AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon II X2 240 retail
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/16/2009 05:40 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/16/2009 05:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RainbowSix
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/16/2009

Does the AMD Athlon II X2 240 retail come with thermal compound?
 08/16/2009 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B-Shot
Case Modder

Posts: 1212
Joined: 05/18/2009

Yes it will be on the heat sink fan.
 01/09/2010 12:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
heitkrew
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/09/2010

i have an athlon II x2 250 which has 3 GHz clock speed. does this mean that i have 3 GHz of clock speed for each processor?
 01/09/2010 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: heitkrew

i have an athlon II x2 250 which has 3 GHz clock speed. does this mean that i have 3 GHz of clock speed for each processor?


yes

2 cores @ 3 ghz each.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 01/09/2010 01:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
heitkrew
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/09/2010

oh ok
6GHz all in all
nice
 02/20/2010 10:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BGiordano
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/20/2010

Can anyone post the dimensions of the stock retail 240 heatsink and fan? I'm trying to squeeze it into my HTPC case and want to know if it will work before ordering. I spent a ton of time on the AMD site but no dimensions were to be found.

Also, in some other thread people were mentioning that more than just the AM3 HSF combos would work with this CPU, which ones will work? I would rather go with an after-market HSF than stock.
 05/07/2010 04:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveping
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 05/06/2010

i have an athlon II x2 250 which has 3 GHz clock speed. does this mean that i have 3 GHz of clock speed for each processor too , so what can i do something ?
 09/30/2010 01:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sherrischmidt75
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/30/2010

I think Athlon II x2 240 is a out od date item. Whether, the Athlon II X2 250 makes it easy. With 2 3.0GHz cores that have their own 1MB cache, you have the power to do anything you like. HyperTransport technology boosts system performance by giving each core a dedicated cache of memory and reducing I/O bottlenecks by increasing bandwidth and reducing latency. And yes, it has thermal compound.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information