AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 3000+ or AMD athlon XP??? My computer doesn't know!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/05/2009 09:21 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/06/2009 02:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I would think so. The memory setup is not great either though. Hopefully the two modules will run ok together.

As the board dates from around 2004/2005 it probably wasn't affected by the bad capactior plague of 2002/2003 and as it has run at 100 all it's life it's likely to still be in good nick. It may be worth checking out the capacitors before spending any more money. When pcs get to that sort of age it's often more cost-effective to just get a new pc. It depends what you want to do with it.

I'm 99% sure it's a sempron 3000 running at the wrong speed.

Actually make that 100%. Barton core, x12 multi, showing as MP. It can't be anything else.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 09/06/2009 02:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

I actually ran memtest a while back, when i first got the extra stick of ram(The tech support guy said it was a good idea), and it didn't say anything negative.

Thank you for all your help. All in all, good work, as i now know what my CPU is, and it's running higher then it was. That's a good bonus. Once again. Thanks.
 09/06/2009 02:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Yeah the memory was running at 200/400 before so if it was ok then it'll be fine at 133/266 or 166/333.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 09/06/2009 02:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

My computer is actually a bit faster now. Though....perhaps you can help me with something else, since we're here.

I posted this to another forum, but they aren't doing the best job at helping me yet so:

"Okay, first off, some info on my computer:

1024 megs of DDR Ram
AMD sempron 3000+ processor (1.18)
Nvidia FX 5200
Windows XP SP 1(I think)


I love to play games, and i hate to say it, but my computer just isn't totally up to today's games. However, i try anyway, and sometimes they work just fine. My problem today is, i can play games, perfectly fine, that have system requirements higher then i have, perfectly fine, sometimes on medium settings or better. BUT IT CRASHES AFTER FIVE MINUTES ON GAMES THAT I SHOULD BE ABLE TO DESTROY WITH WHAT I HAVE!!!!!!!!! ***! Lol. It's like some wort of irony fest going on at my house. Here's a list of games i can play, and can't play.



Spore
Medium setting all the way. Good frame rate
System requirements:

Windows XP
- 2.0 GHz P4 processor or equivalent
- 512 MB RAM
- A 128 MB Video Card, with support for Pixel Shader 2.0
- At least 6 GB of hard drive space

Windows Vista
- 2.0 GHz P4 processor or equivalent
- 768 MB RAM
- A 128 MB Video Card, with support for Pixel Shader 2.0
- At least 6 GB of hard drive space
NVIDIA GeForce series
- FX 5900, FX 5950
- 6200, 6500, 6600, 6800,
- 7200, 7300, 7600, 7800, 7900, 7950
- 8400, 8500, 8600, 8800

I don't meet the processor or video card minimum requirement, but i can play it for hours with no hangups or framerate drops.

Sims 3
Low settings for shadows and details
System requirements
Desktop PC (Windows XP + SP2):
CPU: 2ghz Pentium4 Processor or Amd Athlon 2000+ Processor
RAM: 1 GB of RAM
GPU: 128mb Video Card (GeForce FX 5900 or Radeon 9500)

Same here. I play for long times, small hangups, but no crashes.


S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Shadow of Chernobyl
Max on details, medium on shadows. Pristine framerates.
* Operating System: Microsoft® Windows® XP (Service Pack 2)/Microsoft® Windows® 2000 SP4
* CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2 Ghz/AMD XP 2200+
* RAM: 512 MB RAM
* Hard Disk Space: 10 GB available hard drive space
* VIDEO: 128 MB DirectX® 9c compatible card/ nVIDIA® GeForcetm 5700/ATI Radeon® 9600
* CPU: DirectX® 9 compatible sound card
* CPU: LAN/ Internet connection with Cable/DSL speeds for multiplayer
* CPU: Keyboard, Mouse

I once beat this game in one sitting.

Half-life 2
Max on all.
# Processor: 1.2 GHz Processor
# OS: Windows, 2000/XP/Me/98
# Graphic card: DirectX 7 level graphics card
# Hard Drive: 4.5 GB
# Memory: 256 MB RAM
# Other: Internet Connection, DVD-ROM Drive

The graphics look amazing, and there are monsters everywhere, and no effing problems.

Romance of the three kingdoms
Metal gear solid 2
Fable:The lost chapters
Il-2 Sturmovik
Thief deadly shadows
Silent hunter
Sims 2, with ALL expansions

The list goes on and on. I can even manage Kane and lynch, though it's really choppy.

Now for the list of games that i CAN NOT play:
Please, notice the inconsistencies.

Simcity 4
I've tried all setting.
Operating System: Windows XP/ME/2000/98 (Windows 95/NT not supported)
CPU: 500 MHz Intel Pentium III or AMD Athlon processor
RAM: 128 MB
CD/DVD-Rom Speed: 8X
Hard Drive Space: 1 gig plus space for saved games
Video: 16 MB video card, DirectX 7 compatible
Sound: DirectX 7.0 compatible
Input: Keyboard, mouse

After a max of ten minutes, or when i try to build roads most of the time, it crashes my computer. ***! I have better then the minimum. I have the recommended system specs.


Rollercoaster tycoon, 2, and 3
I've tried all setting.
Pentium III 733 MHz Processor; 128 MB RAM; 250 MB hard drive space; 32MB video card (Such as nVidia GeForce2 or any ATI Radeon)

Once again, it crashes after just a little bit. It kills me, because i destroy these specs.(not really, but darnit, i have better then they ask for. "
 09/06/2009 02:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

The one thing i am sure it isn't, is overheating. I have a fan for everything, even my hardrive, and there is a nice sized fan on the side to push air out, and one on the side, to pull air in.
 09/06/2009 03:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

That's possibly a duff power supply issue, which would only get worse at 133, due to the increased heat generated and the extra draw on the psu.

Does this psu have a name?

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 09/06/2009 03:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

BESTEC is the name as far as i can see.
 09/06/2009 03:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Or it could have been due to the cpu and memory running so far out of sync(cpu at 100, memory at 200).

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 09/06/2009 03:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

Also, there was this game my brother was playing on here, and it made it about five minutes, and crashed/rebooted my computer, and then he tried again, and it made it about two minutes. Now if you try it, it doesn't even make it to the New game, load game screen, and it has about the same requirements as the other two computer rebooting games.
 09/06/2009 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

Yeah. I haven't tried it yet, since i just changed it and everything. It bothers me when my computer resets. Kinda scary. No one likes it when something you paid like $600 dollars suddenly has a "Heart attack" And dies for a second.
 09/06/2009 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Is this a Compaq Presario PC?

Interesting thread at the badcaps forum http://www.badcaps.net/forum/printthread.php?t=4884

Yeah I would upgrade that psu sooner rather than later. It may not like having to work harder.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 09/06/2009 03:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

It's actually an emachines W3052.



GAH!!!! The bestec is a curse! I would die if my computer died.
I actually got the Bestec, because my old power supply died in a storm, and never ran again...
 09/06/2009 03:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

Also...Southbridge? (From the link)
 09/06/2009 03:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

<-- worried for computers life. Lol...
 09/06/2009 03:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

I just downloaded the newest speed fan, and it says my GPU temp is 32F....interesting....
 09/06/2009 03:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Well if you're that worried revert to 100 bus and set the lowest memory speed you can, which is probably 133.

The southbridge is part of the nForce2 chipset and controls ide, sound, usb etc. If that blows, the board dies.

It's certainly true that a failing or poor quality psu can seriously damage the health of a pc. Just about all of these off-the-shelf cheap pcs were fittted with marginal power supplies that could not support hardware upgrades. As a general principle, always think psu first before adding or upgrading components.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 09/06/2009 03:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

Okay. I think i will lower them again. Atleast till i get a better power supply. Thanks for everything, by the way. You've been a great help.
 09/06/2009 04:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Don't forget to visually check the board for "bad caps". Useful info at the badcaps website http://www.badcaps.net/forum/index.php

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 09/06/2009 04:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

I'll check all the time till i get another power supply. Thanks.
 09/06/2009 04:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klldarkness
Member

Posts: 23
Joined: 09/05/2009

Pssh. Here's the "help" the people at the other forum offered me for my game related reboot.


"Look, either your system is overheating or you've got some bad hardware damage, or your system is just too weak. Whichever way, I wouldn't sink too much more money into this. I don't even know off-hand how old those parts are, I had a low-end eMachines five years ago with better specs. I would think about a new computer if you wan to play any newer games."

He clearly did not read that my problem isn't newer games...but older ones. lol.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information