AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: when do i up grade the bois
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/25/2004 10:02 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/25/2004 10:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0o_what_the_o0
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 02/22/2004

ok i am updating to a AMD XP2200+ this staturday i have mobo duron socketA L7VMM2
bois ver 1.1 mmmmmm......i have been to ecs mobo site downloaded the flash bois saved it to a disk .......... now i would like to know when do i update the bois before installing Xp2200+ or after ????? oh at present i have a duron 1.2 ghz processor if that any help

-------------------------
PEACE OUT
Jason
specs:
MD: A7V 266-E, bois rev:1011
XP2200+ at 1813mhz
512 333 ram
G-force4 mx440 128mb ram
Asus burner
liteon CD, DVD rom
17" montior
:D:D:D:D:D
 02/25/2004 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
speedyaxon
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 10/06/2003

i would do it now to make sure the board will support the 2200+. If you try it after, you may already be dealing with other issues to do the new proc...

-------------------------
2500+ @2.5ghz 1.93vcore, maxed at 2578mhz.
SLK-900U Tt SmartFan 2
Abit NF7-S rev.2
1GB Buffalo PC3700
Hercules 9800 Pro
WinXP Home
 02/26/2004 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

Before for sure or it may not even boot with the new processor.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 02/26/2004 11:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

And dont forget to reset the CMOS when you are done flashing the bios...

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 02/27/2004 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0o_what_the_o0
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 02/22/2004

thanks i am a little worried as i do not want to buy a XP2200+ and get it wrong , i rang the dude at the computer shop and he said " do not update bois he will put the XP2200 on and see if the Mobo will accept it he said if not put the other processor inn and then update" i am good with software but not hardware , so i am getting the comp shop to do it for me i think that is the safest thing for now as if anything does go wrong lol he can fix it and my warranty will be in tact i guess but thanks for all the info .......... i think going from a 1.2 duron to a Xp2200+ will be a big in provement as i have seen ppl post in here that Xp2200+ is good i have noticed that MD willington has a XP2200+ so all good
and thanks again guys for ur input
Peace out JASon

-------------------------
PEACE OUT
Jason
specs:
MD: A7V 266-E, bois rev:1011
XP2200+ at 1813mhz
512 333 ram
G-force4 mx440 128mb ram
Asus burner
liteon CD, DVD rom
17" montior
:D:D:D:D:D
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information