AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: ?XP 3200 333/FSB?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/10/2004 06:07 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/10/2004 06:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tarlano
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/10/2004

I just bought a Soyo K7VME motherboard that support 266/333 fsb processors.

The official web page shows that the board can support upto an Athlon XP 3000+ Barton 333 FSB processor...

But Amazon.com is selling a AMD ATHLON XP 3200+ 512K-333FSB BARTON BOXED ( AXDA3200BOX ) processor http://tinylink.com/?4AT5eAli20' ">http://tinylink.com/?4AT5eAli20

Is there such a thing as a Athlon XP 3200+ with a 333 front side bus?

What is the story? Is Amazon wrong?

If this is true then I will get it, otherwise I will get the Athlon XP 3000+

Thanks,

Anthony
 07/10/2004 06:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE Is there such a thing as a Athlon XP 3200+ with a 333 front side bus?
To my knowledge, it does exist, BUT it was *only* sold in some pre-made systems by HP.
As far as i know, a retail/boxed version of the Athlon XP 3200+ with a 333MHz FSB does NOT exist.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 07/10/2004 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tarlano
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/10/2004

Dooh... I just bought the processor, thinking I could trust Amazon... Do you know whether the processor will run on a 333 Mhz FSB??
 07/10/2004 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Yes, it will work....but with a 333MHz FSB, it will only run at Athlon XP2500+ speeds unless you change the multiplier(which might be possible depending on your motherboard and on when the processor was manufactured).

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 07/10/2004 07:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tarlano
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/10/2004

Do you have any info, maybe an article about multipliers...

If the multiplier option does not work, What would you suggest..

1. Return the MB and get one that supports a 400 Mhz FSB
2. Return the processor and get a 3000+
 07/10/2004 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

for it to run at 333MHz + FSB is darn mighty fine i must say. are you planning on squeezing every last MHz out of this chip?
 07/10/2004 09:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tarlano
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/10/2004

??? What do you mean squeeze every last bit??? I don't understand... the XP 3200+ should run at 400 FSB...
 07/10/2004 09:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

no, i didnt mean just using 333. i was generally asking if your gonna stretch it out to the max??
 07/10/2004 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Tarlano, Greyhound covered it with his explanation. AMD also makes OEM products that are not mainstream...sort of like Goodyear makes NASCAR tires but they don't usually sell them to the general public at a regular tire store...get what I mean?

AMD also made a 2800+ T-Bred that was for OEM, and they have been pretty scarce...You may want to hang onto that chip for a while...may be worth a bit more down the road...

Once you have it installed, run CPU-Z' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php and post the details here. It would be interesting to find out the specifications of that cpu.

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 07/10/2004 11:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rosarix
Senior Member

Posts: 544
Joined: 07/03/2004

A version of Athlon XP running at 2.33Ghz with FSB333 exists and used in HP systems.

Also: I would not be surprised if this is an Amazon mistake, since Amazon.com sells videos for $1900 while amazon.co.uk has the same video for 4-5 british pounds :-)

-------------------------
NerdyPC' ">http://www.nerdypc.org/ - My Blog' ">http://nsk.wikinerds.org/blog - My PCs' ">http://nsk.wikinerds.org/computers.html
 07/14/2004 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
almmohd
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 07/12/2004

Hi Tarlano, you bought the AMD ATHLON XP 3200+ 512K-333FSB BARTON BOXED ( AXDA3200BOX ) at Amazon, right? I am looking at buying the same chip from them. Does it actually have a 400 FSB or 333?

-------------------------
why isn't it working like it's supposed to?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information