AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Genie BIOS question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/13/2004 01:40 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/13/2004 01:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pete0403
B1FF

Posts: 142
Joined: 08/30/2004

I just bought a DFI nFII Ultra Infinity board.

I have a AXP 2600+ 333FSB chip on it and the clock setting for the chip is at 166MHz. My question is: I have 400MHz ram but I can only set the ram speed as a ratio or the cpu clock. The highest it goes is 1:2 which puts my ram at 332MHz. If I set the RAM clock to "Auto" will it still use this ratio system or will the RAM run at it's full 400MHz?

This is kind of an akwardly worded question, let me know if I can clarify.

Thanks for any help

-------------------------
-AMD Athlon XP 2600+ (Barton) @ stock speed<br>-DFI nFII Ultra Infinity (Phoenix AwardBIOS 11/27/2003)<br>-ATi Radeon 9600XT 128mbDDR<br>-512mb Infineon PC3200 RAM @ 334MHz<br>-160GB WD & 40GB Maxtor IDE HDDs<br>-Lg DVD RW<br>-Black dig. thermo case & Vantec LED fans w\ front speed control
 09/13/2004 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

With an NForce2-based motherboard(such as your DFI nFII Ultra Infinity), you want to run your memory and FSB synchronously, i.e. at the same speed - running asynchronously(i.e. FSB and memory at different speeds) on an NForce2-board will actually decrease your systems' performance.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 09/13/2004 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pete0403
B1FF

Posts: 142
Joined: 08/30/2004

Thanks, so would "Auto" be a better setting or does it matter?

-------------------------
-AMD Athlon XP 2600+ (Barton) @ stock speed<br>-DFI nFII Ultra Infinity (Phoenix AwardBIOS 11/27/2003)<br>-ATi Radeon 9600XT 128mbDDR<br>-512mb Infineon PC3200 RAM @ 334MHz<br>-160GB WD & 40GB Maxtor IDE HDDs<br>-Lg DVD RW<br>-Black dig. thermo case & Vantec LED fans w\ front speed control
 09/13/2004 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

If there is an option for '100%' or 'synch' i would use that - 'auto' will either make your memory run synchronously with the FSB or it might run at its rated speed of 400MHz...you can check that with CPU-Z, tho.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information