AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: a little help please
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/01/2010 12:15 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by leserz, on Monday, March 1, 2010 3:42 AM

Answer:
core speed 1532.4 mhz - bus speed 133.2 - rated FSB 256 mhz need anything else ? i did not know CPY-Z was a download program i do now thanks for the link drivers updated ? anti virus run last few days up dated daily ( microsoft essentials ). has S3 graphics pro savage DDR
 03/01/2010 12:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leserz
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/28/2010

hi first post. nice site but 99% is over my head .lol i just bought a used computer it has a adm athlon XP1800 processor in it. i know nothing about a adm processor don't know anything about them. about what will this equal to a intel processor? it seems slower than my old computer a Pentium III 600 mhz. not sure. these are the spec's on this one memory is now 512
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...cname=bph07963&dlc=en

is this fast enough to play some simple games most games i see say to have 700 mhz or faster. im an idiot on the inner workings of computers. not sure i even want to know much i can get in trouble faster that way. lol would i need more memory or upgrade to a better processor with out buying a mother board also?
 03/01/2010 01:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

AMD Athlon XP1800+ runs at 1533MHz, in performance it is about equal to a classic Pentium 4 @ 1.8GHz.
If it is running slower than your P3@600MHz, something is not right there.

The link you posted does not work.

Run CPU-Z and post the info here, we might spot something that may need be set.

-------------------------
 03/01/2010 01:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leserz
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/28/2010

lets see if this works. tried to run CPU-Z saus i could not do it if i did it right.
odel number
DB282A
Introduction date
25-Nov-2002
Countries/regions sold in

*
United States
*
Canada

Bundle information
The HP Pavilion 304w desktop PC (part number DB282A) is a component of the HP Pavilion 304w-b desktop PC bundle (part number DB283A) and is available exclusively at Wal*Mart stores. The bundle includes:

*
HP Pavilion 304w desktop PC
*
HP MX70 17-inch monitor

Hardware
Base processor and speed
Athlon (T) XP1800+ 1.53 GHz featuring QuantiSpeed Architecture

*
Advanced 266 MHz Front-Side Bus (FSB)
*
Socket A

Chipset
Via KM 266
Motherboard manufacturer

*
Trigem
*
Motherboard specifications

Memory
Component Attributes
RAM (installed) 128 / PC2100 DDR
Maximum allowed 1 GB (2 x 512 MB) requires replacement of the installed 128 DIMM
Speed supported PC2100 / PC1600
Type DDR SDRAM
DIMM slots Two
Open slots One
Cache
Type Attributes
Primary cache (L1) 128 KB
Secondary (L2) 256 KB
Hard drive
40 GB Ultra DMA
CD-RW drive
32x/10x/40x maximum speed
Diskette drive
1.44 MB (3.5-inch)
Modem
ITU V.90 K56flex Data/Fax

*
92 upgradable
*
PCI interface card

Video graphics
Integrated in Via KM 266 Chipset
Sound/audio
Integrated AC97 audio (Realtek ALC201)
MPEG
MPEG2 full-motion digital video
USB specification
USB 2.0
External ports
Port type Quantity
USB Six (Two front and four back)
Serial One
Parallel One
PS2 Keyboard One
PS2 Mouse One
Expansion slots (total)
Slot type Quantity
PCI Three (Two open)
DIMM Two (One open)
AGP-4X One (open)
Drive bays (total)
Bay type Quantity
5.25-inch CD, external Two
3.5-inch HDD, internal One
3.5-inch FDD, external One
3.5-inch (other) One
Keyboard and mouse

*
HP Pavilion keyboard with three special function keys
*
PS/2 two-button scrolling mouse

Speakers
Polk Audio series "F" stereo speakers
Back to top
Software
Supported operating systems (OS/NOS)
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Software build ID / BIOS
Salsa-GLA Software Build ID 31NAheBLU4 NA-HOME
Complete software package
Operating system
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
CD-RW and DVD software
HP RecordNow by VERITAS
Education and reference
Encyclopedia Brittanica 2002 Service Online (one year free trial) Weatherbug
Entertainment, music, and games

*
MusicMatch Jukebox Basic Version
*
My Software Choice
*
Wild Tangent GameChannel
*
Music Store

Imaging, photography, video, and film

*
Imaging ToolKit:
o
PhotoImpression by ArcSoft
o
Greeting Card Creator by ArcSoft
o
Funhouse by ArcSoft
*
HP Photo Printing Software
*
HP Make Memories Disc Creator
*
HP Simple Backup for My Pictures

Data migration
IntelliMover by Detto (Data transfer between PCs)
Productivity and finance

*
WordPerfect Productivity Pack by Corel (includes: WordPerfect, Quattro Pro, and Task Manager)
*
Intuit Quicken New Users Edition
*
Adobe Acrobat Reader
*
MarketBrowser

Security

*
Norton AntiVirus 2003 (Includes 60 day subscription for antivirus updates)
*
Freedom Security Console

Utility, maintenance, and performance

*
@Backup by SkyDesk
*
Energy Star Block
*
Upgrading and Servicing Guide (Electronic Versions in the HP Tools Center)

HP Recovery and HP Ware

*
Backweb Client with HP Center Toolbar
*
Rubik (Worldwide ISP signups) by WIS
*
EHelp / HP Instant Support
*
PC Doctor
*
HP Tour Guide (Victor)
*
Internet Explorer Favorites

Back to top
Warranty
Duration of Limited Warranty - HP Pavilion Desktop PC
Hardware One year
Technical Phone Assistance to diagnose potential hardware issues One year -

24-hours, seven-days a week
NOTE: Refer to the Support Guide included in the box with the PC for warranty details.
Back to top


Other solutions customers found helpful
» HP and Compaq Desktop PCs -- Motherboard Specifications, AM37 (Salsa)
» HP and Compaq Desktop PCs -- Upgrading Memory (RAM)
» HP and Compaq Desktop PCs -- Obtaining Software and Drivers
» -- Updating the BIOS (HP and Compaq Desktop PCs & Workstations)
Print this page
HP Pavilion 304w Desktop PC
 03/01/2010 01:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leserz
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/28/2010

this help any /?
 03/01/2010 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

It helped a little, but not to see if there is some setting or config wrong that might hinder performance.

E.g. like how much RAM does it have at the moment, is the bus and RAM set to run @ 133MHz(266) and are the RAM timings correct?

Why would CPU-Z not run? You can try with either the .exe install packet or the .zip file, just extract it.

Can also try PCWizard2010

Enough free space on the hard disk, AV scan and defragmentation done? All drivers updated?

Are you using on board VGA or a discrete VGA card(this relevant if gaming)?

-------------------------
 03/01/2010 03:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leserz
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/28/2010

Answer Answer
core speed 1532.4 mhz - bus speed 133.2 - rated FSB 256 mhz need anything else ? i did not know CPY-Z was a download program i do now thanks for the link drivers updated ? anti virus run last few days up dated daily ( microsoft essentials ). has S3 graphics pro savage DDR
 03/01/2010 04:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

If it only has 128MB of RAM and running Windows XP, it is slow. You will need at least 512MB, preferably 1GB, since the onboard VGA uses some of that RAM shared for graphics.

If you have one stick 128MB in there now, you could put in another 512MB in the other slot.

-------------------------
 03/01/2010 06:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leserz
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/28/2010

it's suppose to have physical 512 mb ram
available physical memory 158.77 MB
total virtual memory 2.00 GB
 03/01/2010 07:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

CPU-Z will tell how much RAM you have, note that 64MB is likely used for the shared VGA RAM.

It looks as if you have 192MB(128+64) if RAM in there, of which 64MB is in use for VGA, leaving about 160MB available. This is the reason it is slow, you need more RAM.



http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...ocname=bph07941


Drivers:

VIA motherboard Chipset driver, version 4.43

http://www.via.com.tw/en/support/drivers.jsp


S3 KM266 integrated graphics driver:

http://www.viaarena.com/ViaDis...ubCatID=112?=en-GB

-------------------------
 03/01/2010 08:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leserz
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/28/2010

so i take the computer i just bought is not all that bad then just need to up the memory ? 1 GB- 1 1/2 GB i know a guy that has a XP2000 processor that going to be noticeable over the XP1800 ? or am i better offf just getting the memory up grade?
thank you for all your help gang
 03/01/2010 08:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Not a noticeable difference in performance between the XP1800+ and XP2000+. Get the memory upgrade first, then if you can get the XP2000+ cheap, will not hurt I guess.

EDIT: Looking at hp's site, seem this board only supports RAM sticks of max size 512MB. (2x512MB = 1GB total)

Maximum allowed 1 GB (2 x 512 MB) requires replacement of the installed 128 DIMM

-------------------------


Edited: 03/01/2010 at 08:34 AM by go_for
 03/01/2010 08:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leserz
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/28/2010

thanks again
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information