AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sluggish system
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/05/2004 07:48 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/05/2004 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jack1314
Senior Member

Posts: 487
Joined: 10/05/2004

I am currently running an xp 2200+ on an Asrock K7S8X 3.0 m/b with 1gb of DDR 400 memory. While gaming the system appears to be quite sluggish and uses a lot of memory. Am I using compatible memory or do I need a cpu with higher FSB to run memory to its full potential. I have heard that memory will downgrade itself to match cpu.
I also have installed a NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 128mb ddr


Thanks in advance for any replies

Jack

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3000+
2 x 512mb pc2700
Nvidia Geforce4 440 GO 64mb
NEC DVD +/- RW ND-6450A
Windows xp pro
 10/05/2004 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

Some parts runs at the speed of the slower component. Your Processor must have 266 MHz Bus, so your Memory Modules should underclock themselves to match that Bus. However, if you use a Processor with higher Bus, your Memory Modules should be capable of support it with no problem because they are rated to run at 400 MHz. It is actually possible to run the Memory Modules asynchronously of the Processor (For example, your Processor runs with 266 MHz Bus and the Memory Modules at 400 MHz Bus). By the way, I have an Athlon XP 1800+ with 640 MB of RAM (Generic brand, one 512 MB 333 MHz Bus Memory Module and the other a 128 MB 266 MHz one) with an ASUS A7N266-VM and its GeForce 2 32 MB Onboard. It shows to be slow in games like Doom 3, but in most others it do wonders. For gaming, I suggest you getting a much better Video Card and maybe, if you haven't done it, configure properly your system (Check for Spywares and that, and any other Program running in the background that can be eating resources). Only the newest and heaviest games can give you troubles at all.
 10/06/2004 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

DDR400 should have no problem running @ DDR266. Your videocard is very bad, however. The CPU is kinda slow by today's standards as well..
 10/07/2004 05:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shielder
Senior Member

Posts: 303
Joined: 10/07/2003

Generally, the Athlon likes to have the memory running in synch with the cpu, so if the cpu has a FSB of 266MHz, then your memory should run at 266MHz. I'd also check your graphics card. The FX5200 is not a good card. I've got the FX5600 and that's not too hot either!

Andy

-------------------------
Athlon XP 2500+ (stock) on an Asus A7N8X with 1Gig Crucial PC3200, 30GB Maxtor and 60GB Seagate Drives (both ATA100), Asus 9560 GeForce FX5600 graphics card, on board sound and dual booting with WinXP Pro and SuSe 9.2 Pro with a 400W Q-tec PSU. Using Firefox and Thunderbird for internet and emails and OpenOffice.org for work.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information