AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Driver Required
Topic Summary: AMD Athlon XP 1600+ (Palomino)
Created On: 04/11/2010 09:43 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/11/2010 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sheepfarm2326
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/11/2010

Ive just upgraded my very outdated system
but before i put the old dog in a box and shove it in the attic i wish to reformat and reinstall the entire system, so that i know i have a stable system just incase i need it for anything.

could somebody provide me with a link for the relevant driver(s) please...?
 04/11/2010 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

You would need to post you system specs. for any help.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 04/11/2010 10:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Specific driver not required for socket A cpus in Windows .

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w

Edited: 04/11/2010 at 01:19 PM by bogey
 04/25/2010 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sheepfarm2326
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/11/2010

it is just the amd athlon xp 1600+ driver that i would require, ive found the others
i am no techy, would i need this driver or would windows xp run fine on it without the driver.
although i am on my old pc at the moment and its performance is shocking after a couple of weeks of using my new pc, i think i may as well bin it and save some space in the attic
 04/25/2010 11:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Dont bin it use it to help cure diseases
Link
If you dont want to bother donate it to someone that will put it to use.
I believe a few people here have crunching farms and would gladly take it.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 04/27/2010 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

would i need this driver or would windows xp run fine on it without the driver.


You do not need a CPU driver, it will run fine with XP.

These you need to update:

-chipset(motherboard) driver(s)
-VGA driver
-Audio driver
-Ethernet driver

The above may have relevant impact on performance.
and if you have some other add on cards, driver(s) for them.

Let it fold for Team 34106:

http://forums.amd.com/forum/me...=104822&enterthread=y

http://forums.amd.com/forum/me...id=77957&enterthread=y

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information