AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Processor Speed Query
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/18/2004 06:19 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/18/2004 06:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mister_coops
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/18/2004

Hello

I have both af the above processors and have tried them in the same ASUS A7N8X-X motherboard and have a question about speed which I cannot understand. The 2000 processor runs at 1250Mhz, but the 2500 processor will only run at 1100Mhz, why? I have the physical motherboard FSB setting at 166Mhz amd the freqency multiplier for the CPU in the BIOS is set to Auto (11.0x)

Any clues?

Thanks

Kevin
 08/18/2004 06:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

Take as guide this complete Roadmap: http://www.c627627.com/AMD/AthlonXP/' ">http://www.c627627.com/AMD/AthlonXP/

You should have your FSB running at 133 MHz (266 MHz effective) and a 12.5x Multiplier to have a total of 1666 MHz on your Athlon XP 2000+. Your Athlon XP 2500+ should have its FSB running at 166 MHz (333 MHz effective) and a 11.0x Multiplier to have a total of 1833 MHz. I think that your FSB is running at 100 MHz (200 MHz effective), because 100 * 12.5x = 1250 MHz and 100 * 11.0x = 1100 MHz. I do not know how to set the correct FSB in your Motherboard. But that is what I think that is wrong there...
 08/18/2004 07:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Shielder
Senior Member

Posts: 303
Joined: 10/07/2003

With the ASUS boards (I have the A7N8X) whenever you change the processor, the BIOS will automatically go into "safe mode". I.e. it will set your FSB to 100MHz. You will need to go into the BIOS and change it to the required speed (133MHz for the 2000+ and 166MHz for the 2500+). Just moving the jumper from 100 to 133/166/200 will not change the FSB. You need to go into the bios to do it.

Andy

-------------------------
Athlon XP 2500+ (stock) on an Asus A7N8X with 1Gig Crucial PC3200, 30GB Maxtor and 60GB Seagate Drives (both ATA100), Asus 9560 GeForce FX5600 graphics card, on board sound and dual booting with WinXP Pro and SuSe 9.2 Pro with a 400W Q-tec PSU. Using Firefox and Thunderbird for internet and emails and OpenOffice.org for work.
 08/18/2004 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mister_coops
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/18/2004

Thanks, after reading your replies and looking, I had the memory frequency on 166Mhz, not the CPU external frequency which was on 100Mhz as you stated, changed it in the BIOS, now all ok.

Thank you so much

Kevin
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information