AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Y use 2500 and not 2800 to O.C. to 3200?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/22/2004 01:32 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/22/2004 01:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eruscool
Member

Posts: 96
Joined: 07/11/2004

Hey Guys i Was just wondering why i am seeing so many 2500 o.c. to 3200 speeds and no 2800. i bougth a 2800 about a month ago ang it runs kick [content edited]. is the 2500 more o.c. friendly or what? also is it ok to o.c. my fsb to 400 from 333 with out touching my 2.08 clock speed? which is what i did, i o.c 'd my fsb without touching my clock speed. i have not run in into any instability issues so i assume it's running fine. Your comments are appreciated

-------------------------
3700 San Diego E6 stepping @ 2.9 cooled by a Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Msi K8N Diamond Plus (Dual x16 Slots)
2 Gigs Corsair 3200xl 2-2-2-5 (running @ 3-3-3-6 with 5/6 divider)
Dual e-Vga 7800 GT CO in SLI (490Core,1200Mem) w/ copper Hsf
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
Antec True Power II 550W Psu (nvidia SLI cert.)
NZXT Lexa Case
Sony DVD-rom,Nec DVD+RW
dual Samsung 200 gig HDD's
buncha fans controlled by a Ultra fan controler
Logitech Z-2300 2.1 sp
 07/22/2004 02:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rosarix
Senior Member

Posts: 544
Joined: 07/03/2004

the 2500 is cheaper.

-------------------------
NerdyPC' ">http://www.nerdypc.org/ - My Blog' ">http://nsk.wikinerds.org/blog - My PCs' ">http://nsk.wikinerds.org/computers.html
 07/22/2004 04:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

yup its cheaper, but it also has the advantage that evenn if it multiplier locked you can just bump the bus form 166 to 200 and go striaght to 3200.
(mines actualy good for 12x200)

Chances are your 2800 will proably OC better than 2500's becasue it is better rated barton core anyways.

Give it a try (A little bit of extra vcore may help as well)


 07/22/2004 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eruscool
Member

Posts: 96
Joined: 07/11/2004

O.C. my cpu is no problem my mobo lets me do it but i don't know how much i should increase the voltage by. this is my first Amd and i've never really O.C. a cpu before. thanks for your comments guys

-------------------------
3700 San Diego E6 stepping @ 2.9 cooled by a Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Msi K8N Diamond Plus (Dual x16 Slots)
2 Gigs Corsair 3200xl 2-2-2-5 (running @ 3-3-3-6 with 5/6 divider)
Dual e-Vga 7800 GT CO in SLI (490Core,1200Mem) w/ copper Hsf
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
Antec True Power II 550W Psu (nvidia SLI cert.)
NZXT Lexa Case
Sony DVD-rom,Nec DVD+RW
dual Samsung 200 gig HDD's
buncha fans controlled by a Ultra fan controler
Logitech Z-2300 2.1 sp
 07/22/2004 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

increase your mulitplier 1 notch at a time and go into windows and run some test program...eg a benchmark or prime. If it is stable then increase the multi again.

When you get a point where it is not stable in windows, eg does not complete the benchmark or prime..etc then bump your voltage.

Then try your benchmarks again to see if it passes, but also keep an eye on your CPU temperature and don't allow it to get to high.

If your CPU is reasoably well cooled and is not runnig to hot you should be quite safe to go up to 1.85 volts...but do it a bit a time and keep an eye on the tmeperature.

Take your time and do a lot of testing before you decide it is stable enough to go a bit faster.

PS personally I would keep your fsb at 200(ddr400) and just increase the multi, but if you have very good ram you might want to increase your fsb above 200.
 07/23/2004 02:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eruscool
Member

Posts: 96
Joined: 07/11/2004

Thanks for the info bitey . Today i got a spankin new ATI 9800 Pro 256MB according to everyone it's supposed to be blazing fast but i noticed a sligth difference from my Ati 9600XT. I reinstalled Win Xp Pro did all the updates even sp1 and downloaded Catalist 4.7(latest one)and installed it. i left all the settings on default but Battlefield Vietnam still lags just a little. actually it's very little lag but considering my system specs i think there should be no lag at all. oh yeah by the way i also have the latest patch for Battlefield Vietnam . i'm kinda disappointed cuz i thougth this video card was just going to speed througth the games.


Antec Super Lanboy with Antec Smart Blue 350W PSU
Amd Athlon XP2800+ 2.08MHZ 333FSB-Overclocked to 400FSB
Dfi KT600-AL Mobo
1Gig of DDR3200 Ram(Single Channel)
Ati 9800 Pro 256MB
I/O CD-RW/DVD-Rom Combo
Samsung 80Gig HDD 7200Rpm
Western Digital 20Gig HDD 5200Rpm
Win Xp Pro SP1
Catalyst 4.7

-------------------------
3700 San Diego E6 stepping @ 2.9 cooled by a Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Msi K8N Diamond Plus (Dual x16 Slots)
2 Gigs Corsair 3200xl 2-2-2-5 (running @ 3-3-3-6 with 5/6 divider)
Dual e-Vga 7800 GT CO in SLI (490Core,1200Mem) w/ copper Hsf
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
Antec True Power II 550W Psu (nvidia SLI cert.)
NZXT Lexa Case
Sony DVD-rom,Nec DVD+RW
dual Samsung 200 gig HDD's
buncha fans controlled by a Ultra fan controler
Logitech Z-2300 2.1 sp
 07/23/2004 02:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eruscool
Member

Posts: 96
Joined: 07/11/2004

When i said i noticed a sligth difference i meant that my ATI9800 PRO 256MB performs only sligthly better than my ATI9600XT 128MB

-------------------------
3700 San Diego E6 stepping @ 2.9 cooled by a Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Msi K8N Diamond Plus (Dual x16 Slots)
2 Gigs Corsair 3200xl 2-2-2-5 (running @ 3-3-3-6 with 5/6 divider)
Dual e-Vga 7800 GT CO in SLI (490Core,1200Mem) w/ copper Hsf
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
Antec True Power II 550W Psu (nvidia SLI cert.)
NZXT Lexa Case
Sony DVD-rom,Nec DVD+RW
dual Samsung 200 gig HDD's
buncha fans controlled by a Ultra fan controler
Logitech Z-2300 2.1 sp
 07/23/2004 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GryphonKlaw
Member

Posts: 31
Joined: 07/19/2004

I wouldn't have upgraded to Radeon 9800 Pro from a 9600 XT since there won't be that big of a perfomance change.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information