AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: _ Is the XP 2800 32-bit or 64-bit
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/28/2004 12:25 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/28/2004 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rausdahl
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/22/2004

I want to download an application from Microsoft to test some USB ports on my machine, but they have three versions of the application -- one for 32-bit and two for 64-bit, and I don't know which to use. I did some searches and checked about 30 search results trying to determine if the XP 2800 is 32-bit or 64-bit, but didn't have any luck.

The versions for the application are listed below. If the XP2800 is a 32-bit processor, I assume I should download the X86 version. If it's a 64-bit processor, I assume I should download the AMD64 version.

X86, which is identified as 32-bit.
IA64, which is identified as IA64-bit.
AMD64, which is identified as X64-bit.
 10/28/2004 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Titmouse
Overclocker

Posts: 931
Joined: 01/26/2004

The athlon xp procesors are all 32 bit
id say go 32-bit


-------------------------
-Athlon 64 X2 5600+
-4x1gb Patriot Extreme
-ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT
-Windows 7 ultimate
-Radeon Hd 4850
-2x120gb WD Caviar SE
- SI K9N4 SLI-F Socket AM2
-Zion case
-Samsung Syncmaster 204b 20" Widescreen
 10/28/2004 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

QUOTE (rausdahl @ Oct 28 2004, 08:25 AM) I want to download an application from Microsoft to test some USB ports on my machine, but they have three versions of the application -- one for 32-bit and two for 64-bit, and I don't know which to use. I did some searches and checked about 30 search results trying to determine if the XP 2800 is 32-bit or 64-bit, but didn't have any luck.

The versions for the application are listed below. If the XP2800 is a 32-bit processor, I assume I should download the X86 version. If it's a 64-bit processor, I assume I should download the AMD64 version.

X86, which is identified as 32-bit.
IA64, which is identified as IA64-bit.
AMD64, which is identified as X64-bit.
Download and run WCPUID...Click on extended features flag, in the bottom right of the screen that pops up it will tell you if it supports 64 bit extensions...

If you have a Socket A(462) cpu then it is 32bit...

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 10/30/2004 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rausdahl
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/22/2004

Thanks for both replies. I know the socket on the MB is type "A", so both replies confirm this is a 32 bit processor.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information