AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: CPU revision
Topic Summary: How to find out revision number of CPU before buying
Created On: 12/30/2011 09:16 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/30/2011 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
METT
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/30/2011

Hello:
I am planing on buying a new cpu but my mobo Asus M3N78-VM needs flashing bios for diferent revsions. I rather not doing it again. I have revision 1309 right know and I am looking at one CPU that will work but it has two diferent revisions. One of them needs flashing the bios since is higher. How do I determine the revision number if the specs on websites do not tell me the revision number.

Thanks in advance.
 12/30/2011 11:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

You did not mention which processor you are upgrading to?

To be on safer side, confirm you motherboard PCB version is 1.02G or newer.

On the other hand flashing an ASUS board is hassle free, use EZ Flash2 and you have help of CrashFree3 BIOS if it fails.

So in case the PCB version supports the processor, then buy the one you want,
if it does not work, put old processor back and do the BIOS flash.

The latest BIOS version is "1801" and I do think there will be no more updates for that board.
I'd say flash the latest BIOS and be done with it.
It is not very likely you will find 100% reliable info of processor revision before buying,
unless you can look at the code on the box package before.

-------------------------
 12/30/2011 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
METT
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/30/2011

Good idea. I will reconsider flashing the bios and getting the highest version. That way, I can buy wathever I want. They always tell you not to flash the bios if there is no need, but I did it once and it worked with no problem.

Thanks again.
METT
 12/30/2011 06:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unclefester1
Overclocker

Posts: 629
Joined: 11/29/2008

Personally I would think twice about Up-dating your BIOS to the latest greatest. There is a possibility the CPU you choose will not play nice with that BIOS, and you "may not" be able to roll-back to a previous version if any issues arise.

You should only need an Up-Date on a hand-full of Processors (ie..):

Athlon IIX4 635(ADX635WFK42GM),2.9GHz,512KB,rev.C3,95W,SocketAM3 ALL 1406

Athlon IIX4 640(ADX640WFK42GM),3.0GHz,512KB,rev.C3,95W,SocketAM3 ALL 1406

Phenom IIX4 955 (HDX955WFK4DGM),3.2GHz,125W,rev.C3,SocketAM3,Quad-Core ALL 1408

Phenom IIX4 955 (HDZ955FBK4DGM),3.2GHz,125W,rev.C3,SocketAM3,Quad-Core ALL 1406

Phenom IIX6 1035T(HDT35TWFK6DGR),2.6GHz,95W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core ALL 1502

Phenom IIX6 1055T(HDT55TWFK6DGR),2.8GHz,95W,rev.E0,SocketAM3,6-Core ALL 1502

-------------------------
Antec 1650B
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910w
ASUS M3A79-T DeLuxe
1090T x6 @Boiling in the La-Boratory
Corsair H70
OCZ Reaper 8500 2x2 *Pending
ASUS 5970 (under OC investigation)
EVGA 260 55nm (holding pattern)
SeaGate 320x2 16GB Sata
Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
Logitech Z-5500
XP Pro SP2
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information