AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: XP-M and XP
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/01/2005 12:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/01/2005 12:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jk2k
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/29/2005

Help!! /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /> i need a repalcement for cpu for my pc as the old one has died. now i know its not the Mobo as i popped an old duron in there to check!

so........heres my problem, my Mobo (Acorp CFI-S67) was running a AMD Athlon XP1700+ (AX1700DMT3C) and seeing as the old Cpu is dead im mite as well get a higher spec one. Now i have checked the Acorp site (which is about as much use as a chocolate fireguard) and all i can find is the the mobo will support up to an XP2100+, or an Xp2400+ with the BIOS updates. But i am having trouble finding any cpu's brand new, how ever i have found an XP-M brand new. A XP-M 2000+ (AXMH2000FQQ3C), but i cant find any where if my mobo will support this cpu. Not even on the Acorp site. So.....can any one shed any light if if it will or not, OR piont me to somewhere where i can find a New Xp2100+ or XP2400+!!!


just thought as well if you any one knows if i can acctualy use anything faster than a XP2400+ that would help too.
 11/01/2005 01:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

Regular XP are designed for desktop enviorment.

XP-M Mobile versions of their Desktop XP counter-part is designed for the laptop enviorment.

they are basically handpicked XPs that can operate at a lower vcore. so they are known to overclock pretty well /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 11/01/2005 01:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jk2k
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/29/2005

but will my mobo be compatible with this cpu as iv read that some mobo's ar not!! it would be ideal if it does as my system is an e-cube cf-s768. so there is not much room inside an the cooler the cpu the better.
 11/01/2005 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

they should run.. only problem would be the motherboard detecting an unknown processor...

worse case is it doesnt know what kind of processor you have hence wont run...

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 11/01/2005 08:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

The most important thing to know, is if you have the option to adjust the cpu multiplier, either by dip switches or jumpers on the board, or in the bios. XP-Ms default to 6x in a desktop board. If you have no way of adjusting, your going to end up with 800MHz. The only other option is to wire trick the socket.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 11/01/2005 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jk2k
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/29/2005

well iv had a look in my manual an i think i can do it buy jumpers on the board, i 'kind' of grasp what you are saying but im new to all this. adding/changing HD's, memory and PCI cards is about as technical as i have ever got when it comes to delving inside my PC. so over-clocking is the last think on my mind at the min.

Well iv bought the CPU now so fingers crossed. if i have any problem ill be sure to post back here for more advice !!!
 11/01/2005 11:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stealth13777
Senior Member

Posts: 895
Joined: 12/23/2004

I love my xp-m, hopefully yours will work out just as well.

-------------------------
-The Desktop: Abit NF7-S V2 w/ the old AXP-M 2500+ (OC'd) and TT Volcano 12, 1 gig RAM, 37GB WD Raptor, 80Gb Hitachi, XFX NVidia GEForce FX 5700LE (OC'd), Enermax Aluminum Case and XClio 450watt psu, DL DVD-R/RW, DVD-ROM (+ floppy)
SB Audigy 2 ZS
-Everyday:HP Laptop 15.4WS w/Turion64x2 TL-56, 2gig, 160gb, Lightscribe DVD-R/RW, NVidia graphics, Vista
 11/02/2005 01:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

Stone_age was pointing out what often happens when you put an XP-M in a desktop motherboard. That combination usually defaults to a multiplier of 6, so if your FSB is 133 then your overall speed will be 800MHz (133x6).

To increase that you'll have to increase the multiplier. Hopefully you're right and your motherboard supports manual changes to the multiplier. If you can get it to 12.5 then you'd be at 133x12.5 or 1667MHz. If you can get it to 15, you'll be at the same performance of the XP2400+, about 2000MHz.

Of course increasing FSB also increases overall performance but it sounds like your system may not support more than 133MHz.

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
 11/11/2005 01:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

I love my XP-M great ocer, came stock at 1.91ghz, i upeed the Vcore and now am a little over 2.5 ghz, waiting on a better HSF before I go higher.

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
 11/11/2005 08:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

agreed, if overclocking for awsome preformance is your thing then go for the mobile. i get 2.7Ghz on my XP-M, 8hrs prime at 2.5Ghz, you cant beat that /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 11/11/2005 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

Well mine is not stable, my VIA shipset also oces the PCI bus, so at that speed its nuts

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information