AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon XP2800+Mobile FSB266 Socket A/462
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/06/2005 05:19 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/06/2005 05:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
krokant
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/06/2005

hello,

i have a question: i would like to upgrade my amd processor to -> AMD Athlon XP2800+Mobile FSB266 Socket A/462. now i have a amd 2200+

my mobo is: KT400Chipset AD77 Pro


can i replace the 2200 with the 2800 one?

thx.
 10/06/2005 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeowulfX
Deprecated

Posts: 266
Joined: 10/30/2003

You might want to check your mobo manual again and see if it supports the processor. If it does then well and good, if it doesn't...visit the website of your mobo manufacturer and look for BIOS updates for your particular mobo model.

Also, you might want to verify if that AXP 2800+ isn't the Barton core version (@ 333 FSB)

-------------------------
AMD PII x4 965BE C3
Asus M5A97
4GB x2 GSkill RJ 1600
TT ToughPower XT 775w
Sapphire Radeon 6870 1GB DDR5
320GB 500GB x2 HDD Sata
 10/06/2005 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

Your motherboard doesn't officially support an XP-M but it should work. (Very few desktop motherboards have native support for laptop CPUs.) Don't worry about the Barton core; in fact be glad that it has the extra cache!

After a proper installation of the CPU and HSF, your main concern will be manually changing the multiplier. At the first POST the system will probably come up at 6 which times 133/266MHz will only give you about 800MHz. You'll have to increase the multiplier via your BIOS or a wire trick or Windows software. Hopefully your BIOS allows manual changes as that's the preferred solution.

If your RAM and the rest of your system allow you to increase the FSB definitely look in to that as well. 166 times a slightly lower multiplier usually is better than 133 times something higher because the RAM is running faster. (IE: 200x10 is faster than 166x12 while both are faster than 133x15 - even though they all give an overall speed of about 2GHz.)

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information