AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Model 8 or Model 6?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/10/2005 12:06 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/10/2005 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Airbat
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/10/2005

My mother board crashed and I dont know if I have the Model 6 or the Model 8 processor. It is a Athlon 1700+ Model ? I have looked through pages of documentation to see how you are supposed to know which model it is and I have recieved no information on this matter. I am trying to purchase another motherboard, but dont know which model to buy for. /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />
 12/10/2005 03:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sgie87
Case Modder

Posts: 1141
Joined: 08/01/2004

hey welcome to the forum.best place on the net for tech advice.

what exactly do you mean "your mother board crashed?

the type mother board you need for that cpu is a "socket A".

if you need more info about your parts.

this program will tell you all you need to know about your cpu.

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

just click the latest version on the top left and it will download.

and this is a great program,it will tell you everthing you need to know about every componant in your computer,including your mother board.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html' ">http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html

-------------------------
*IRC chatroom #freedom on irc.globalgamers.net server is a great place to hang out online.PM me for more info.*
 12/11/2005 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

Well if your board is dead you'll have to find out what the OPN number is on your CPU. (IE: AXMG2600FQQ4C is a mobile XP2600+.) Write down everything, post all the codes here and someone can help.

Since Socket A is a little long in the tooth you might consider looking at a new CPU and motherboard - Socket 939 or at least 754 (which is very cheap today).

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
 12/11/2005 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Airbat
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/10/2005

QUOTE(Quentin @ Dec 11 2005, 09:27 AM)Well if your board is dead you'll have to find out what the OPN number is on your CPU. (IE: AXMG2600FQQ4C is a mobile XP2600+.) Write down everything, post all the codes here and someone can help.

Since Socket A is a little long in the tooth you might consider looking at a new CPU and motherboard - Socket 939 or at least 754 (which is very cheap today).
[right][snapback]564869[/snapback][/right]

 12/11/2005 04:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Airbat
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/10/2005

QUOTE(Airbat @ Dec 11 2005, 04:05 PM)[right][snapback]565142[/snapback][/right]


Thanks a bunch for the input. I was just hoping for an easy cheap solution, but does not appear to be one LOL. Thanks again for the time to input to me.
Airbat
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information