AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Two different readings for one proccessor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/28/2005 07:15 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/28/2005 07:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PioneerP
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/28/2005

/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />
I have an XP 2000+ I purchaced new in the box about 18 months ago. It is installed in an ASUS A7V8X-X Motherboard. For the entire time up until about 2 months ago it's specs read 1667 or 1.7ghz in the "System Properties". That was with Windows Mellenium Edition.
About 6 weks ago I did a format of the hard drive & installed Windows XP Pro version and within minutes of the installation I started having programs open & close very slow to the point of long duration black screens before the desktop icon appeared. After searching for the problem which I never figured out yet
I installed a program called CPU Indicator because in the "System Properties" I was now getting a reading of 1300.04 MHZ for my CPU. It was varified by this CPU Indicator program as well as another one called Motherboard monitor.
As I went looking for some information on the net,I breezed accross a web page giving some specs on the XP2000+ which included the running voltage it calls for.
It gave a voltage of 1.7 volts at a MHZ of the 1667 it always had. The 1.7 volts stunned me for a second because I have the "Award" B.I.O.S in my motherboard and its settings have always been set to "AUTO".
The voltage is set @ 1.60 volts.
Frequency settings of 133/33 - CPU Frequency Multiplier @12.5 with a FSB @ 266, which calculated in the BIOS does show it at 1667MHZ .
So while all settings at AUTO in the BIOS and it's MHZ clearly showing it @1667 why was I seeing a reading of 1300.04 mhz in system properties?
Basicly frustrated at this point I reformatted the drive again and installed XP HOME version with the disk from my daughters computer. Nothing has changed. I still get the readings of 1300mhz in system properties while a reading of 1667mhz in the BIOS.
I dont understand how or why this could read two different readings.
I pulled the CPU from the ZIF socket and lo & behold there is no writings on the chip itself like I have seen in pictures of them.
Can anyone here tell me which version I have and its "EXACT" settings and specs for it? here is what it looks like to me......

Holding it with the "AMD"at the top and the ZIF socket mark at the lower left IS A #27291 next to it. The center chip is a purple/pink color.
There is a black strip on the left hand side which has four lines of numbers which I will Identify as ABC&D.

(a) AXDA2000DUTC3 (b)9470295250070

©AIUGA 024RPBW (d) 1999 AMD

IT DOES SAY " MADE IN MALAYSIA" BELOW THE CENTER CHIP
Thanks to you in advance!
 05/28/2005 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

I think you meant AXDA2000DUT3C. It is a 1.60V processor. That's what the "U" stands for -- 1.60V. There are other versions of the 2000+ that run at 1.65V and 1.75V.

John

EDIT: 12.5x133~1667. That's how it should be set. I don't understand why the BIOS and system properties would differ either. Try using a good utility like CPU-Z, WCPUID, or CrystalCPUID. There are links to all 3 under the Utilities folder in My Bookmarks, in my sig below. It should show you the FSB and multiplier that are getting you to 1300MHz, if that is indeed correct.

EDIT again: Can you hard-set 133 FSB in the BIOS, rather than AUTO?

John

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 05/28/2005 10:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

Also, you missed a number in AIUGA 024 RPBW - maybe it was AIUGA 0240 RPBW. Anyway, it looks like it was manufactured in "02" or 2002 which means it's unlocked so you could manually set the multiplier and FSB if you ever feel like experimenting to look for faster combinations. /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />

Edit: I should explain that better. If your RAM is PC2700, you could run it at 166/333 and set the processor FSB to 166 and the multiplier to 10 to get the same 1667MHz overall. However, 166x10 will perform better than 133x12.5 because the RAM is running faster and in sync with the FSB.

But don't bother if you don't feel like changing defaults.

I can't see any reason why the BIOS and Windows would report different speeds either. In fact Windows gets its CPU ID and speed rating from the BIOS.

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information