AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: K7S5A Motherboard v AMD Athlon XP 2600+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/13/2005 06:09 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/28/2005 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
civicwalker
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 04/13/2005

After changing the bios to 133/133 the Central Brain Identifier now detects:
General Information
Vendor Name = AuthenticAMD
Central Processor = AMD Athlon XP Processor
Platform = Socket A (462-pin OPGA package)
Family = 6, Model = 10, Stepping = 0
Clock Speed = 2124.27MHz, P-Rating = 2788+
Host Bus Clock = 132.77MHz, FSB Speed = 265.53MHz
Clock Ratio = 16.0, Voltage = 1.616V
L1 Data Cache = 64KB, L1 Cache = 128KB
L1 Instruction Cache = 64KB, L2 Cache = 512KB

Extended Information
CPU String = AMD Athlon Processor
OPN Number = Not determined
Processor Core = Barton, Version = 0.12
Generation = 7, Model = 10, Stepping = 0
Process Technology = 0.13 micron, Revision = A2
Announce Date = Not determined
MMX Techmology = Yes, MMX Extensions = Yes
3DNow! Technology = Yes, 3DNow! Extensions = Yes
SSE Instructions = No, SSE2 Instructions = No
PowerNow Technology = T-Sensor

Is the above what I should expect from an Athlon XP 2800+ Barton Tray, 640KB, FSB 266MHz Socket A (462) [CPU-Code: AXDA2800DKV4C] in a K7S5A (Rev 1.X) motherboard?

If I do not wish to OC, is there anything to be gained from a bios update from
re any need to update the bios from Release 01/16/08

Thanks as always
 04/28/2005 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Looks fine, running at ~ 2.1GHz, calls it an AMD processor, shows the full L2 cache etc...

You have version 2 of the official bios. Bios revision notes are posted at the site below.

http://www.lejabeach.com/ECS/ez.html' ">http://www.lejabeach.com/ECS/ez.html

If eveything is working fine then you should probably leave the bios as is.

If you get adventurous you can use oc1209b.zip or OC030327.zip...

Use OC030327.zip if you are doing a new build. Flashing a K7S5A is not all that hard since the AMIBOOT.ROM trick can be used to recover 90% of the time.

MD



-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information