AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon XP 1600+ with Palomino core
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/09/2005 09:21 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/09/2005 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sweety
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/09/2005

I currently have an Asus A7V-E motherboard and wish to know if an AMD Athlon XP 1600+ cpu chip is compatible. What's the highest cpu speed this motherboard will take?
These are the specs for the motherboard:
Socket A for AMD® Athlon (Thunderbird Core) / Duron™ 550MHz ~ 1GHz+ CPU
VIA® VT8364A (KL133A) + VIA® VT82C686B chipset
266/200MHz FSB
I can get a good deal for this cpu but won't help me if I can't use it!
 02/09/2005 09:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

I've just done a bit of Googling.Can't find much apart from this review
http://www.digit-life.com/articles/asusa7ve/' ">http://www.digit-life.com/articles/asusa7ve/

seems like your stuck with Thunderbirds and Durons upto 200fsb.Would anybody like to confirm this?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 02/09/2005 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

There are quite a few A7V's listed at the asus sight. If you can determine the exact model you may have better luck.

http://www.asus.com.tw/support...ort/...cpusupport.aspx' ">http://www.asus.com.tw/support...upport/cpusupport.aspx

Good Luck

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 02/11/2005 02:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

kt133a's and kl133a's come in two flavours, the ones with the hardware bug that stop them runing XP's and the ones that don't

I had a kt133a chipset with the bug which offically did NOT support Xp processors, however I did get a xp 1800+ running by using a fsb of 124 mhz instead of the rated 133mhz.

For kt133a motherboards(this *might* be true for kl133a's), if your chipset has the silver/metail chipset then the board defintley has the bug, if your chipset has a black plastic chipset your should be okay...the chipset is under the heatsink fan cooler on your mobo...

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information