AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon XP 3200 Barton
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/27/2005 08:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/27/2005 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

This is my first time posting on these message boards and i was wondering if an AMD Athlon XP 3200 Barton can run games smoothly such as Doom III and Half-Life 2? Does the heatsink sound like it's gonna blow? Money is not a problem and i wont get an AMD 64 because then I would need another mobo.

Currently i have an athlon xp 1200 ghz (dont know the model)
and it can run half life but it's choppy and it can run Doom III but that is extremely choppy. The heatsink is also loud as [content edited] on my current processor.

ECS K7S5A Socket A Motherboard
1 stick of 512 mb pc 133 ram
1 stick of 256 mb pc 133 ram
Nvidia ge force 4 ti 4200 128 MB
350 Watt Power supply.

-------------------------
zzzap!
 02/27/2005 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jkulysses
Senior Member

Posts: 623
Joined: 02/05/2005

An XP 3200+ is more than enough for games, an XP 2800+ would do just fine for that. You would be much better off getting an 2800+ and getting a good video card. The video card is what really matters here more than the cpu. Look into getting a nividia 6600GT. Awesome card.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3200+ 939
Zalman 7000 All Copper w/LED
MSI Neo 4 Platnium
2 x 512 Corsair Value Select RAM DDR400
MSI 6600GT PCI-E Video Card
OCZ Modstream 450 watt
Coolermaster Stacker Case

Gamertag: JkUlysses
 02/27/2005 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
45 Auto
Senior Member

Posts: 514
Joined: 10/11/2003

With that motherboard, anything faster then the t'bred xp2600 will be underclocked. The Sis chipset only supports cpus with a 100 or 133 fsb. A few people have been able to get their s5a's to run at 166, but the best most people can do is 150. And that might be iffy with your sd ram.

Since you want to stay with that board, your best bet is to find a 2400 to replace your current cpu. It would be easier to find than a 133fsb 2600. A;so, you'll need to up date your bios. And to play games like HL2 and doom3, you'll definately need to upgrade the gfx card. The 6600gt or a 9800pro is what you should look at.

Btw: I know those boards quite well. Built my first system using one.

-------------------------
955BE/MA790GP-UD4H/HAF932/Corsair H5O/Sapphire 6850/2x2gig Ocz reaper dd2-8500/Corsair Tx650

Asrock 939dualie/5400Brisbane/6gig AData ddr2-800/4850/Antec basiq500/HSF from 955BE
 02/27/2005 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

So, if i have a more updated card, the game would run faster? I thought that the processor determined how fast a game runs.

This is my first computer that i've built so I'm still rather noobish to this.

Would it be better if i got a sempron instead of an athlon?

-------------------------
zzzap!
 02/27/2005 09:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DevilDriver
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/26/2005

the cpu does have some to do with it, but most of todays games demand more for the GFX card than the cpu.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3400+ @2.52GHz
MSI K8N Neo Platinum
512mbx2 Mushkin blue LL
XFX 6600GT
Ultra X-Connect 500w
 02/27/2005 09:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

Alright, I guess i'll get the gfx card instead of the CPU but the 6600GT and 9800 Pro is a bit pricey, what about a 9600 or something?

But is a sempron better for gaming because I see the sempron is $50 cheaper than the athlon XP?

Please excuse spelling and grammar.

-------------------------
zzzap!
 02/27/2005 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technerd_007
Member

Posts: 59
Joined: 03/23/2004

Any day an Athlon XP (Barton) would be better as it has more L2 cache !!!

-------------------------
AMD 2600+ XP Barton@2185 MHz(190 MHz FSB)|ASUS A7N8X-X|Bios 1010. 5.10|Hyundai 512 MB PC-3200 DDR|ASUS V9180 GeForce4 MX 440 64MB DDR 8X AGP|ForceWare 71.84|Pinnacle PCTV Studio Pro TV Tuner.|Samsung 80GB 7200 rpm HDD. |Seagate 20GB 5400 rpm HDD|Samsung 52/24/52 CD-RW|Sony 16x DVD-ROM|Creative Sound Blaster Live! 5.1|Creative Inspire 2500 2.1|CodeGen 400 W PSU.

Dual Boot
MS Windows XP Pro - SP2 / Red Hat Linux 8.0.
 02/27/2005 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

but is it drastically better? $50 worth? I'm sorry if you dont know the answer, just, there dont seem to be many benchmarks Athlon VS. Sempron.

-------------------------
zzzap!
 02/27/2005 10:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
45 Auto
Senior Member

Posts: 514
Joined: 10/11/2003

As to a new gfx card, the 9600pro will work and be playable. However, you will still need a faster cpu and with the board you have, your options are very limited. Any socket A cpu will work, but when you get one's with fsb's that are faster then your board supports they will be underclocked. And that means you will be in the same boat you are in now. With AMD dropping the entire XP line, and most of it has already been discontinued, prices are going to go up.

-------------------------
955BE/MA790GP-UD4H/HAF932/Corsair H5O/Sapphire 6850/2x2gig Ocz reaper dd2-8500/Corsair Tx650

Asrock 939dualie/5400Brisbane/6gig AData ddr2-800/4850/Antec basiq500/HSF from 955BE
 02/28/2005 09:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dazza30
Senior Member

Posts: 540
Joined: 06/05/2004

QUOTE (Royal Flush @ Feb 28 2005, 02:38 AM)but is it drastically better? $50 worth? I'm sorry if you dont know the answer, just, there dont seem to be many benchmarks Athlon VS. Sempron.
The athlons xps are good cpus.
Basicly when the Athlon64 754 pin & then the Athlon64 939 pin processors came out the Athlon xp was no longer the top cpu in Amds line up, so since Amd keeps the name athlon for its top line of cpus they rebranded the Athlon xps into the sempron and now aim them at the mid range market. The reason xps are more expensive than the semprons is because Amd want to sell more semprons to help establish them. Apart from what i just said there is a sempron that is socket 754 with 256kb of l2 cache this cpu is not a rebranded xp.
I hope this helps.


-------------------------
AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ (newcastle)
1024MB APACER DDR3200
ASUS K8V-MX MAINBOARD
EXPERT VISION 128MB 6600GT
MAXTOR 120GIG 8MB CACHE
300GIG EXTERNAL DRIVE
WINDOWS XP PRO SP2
 02/28/2005 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DoomUK
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 02/28/2005

Straight to the point: If you wanna know how the XP 3200+ will do in games, take a look at my sig. My XP 3000 coupled with a 6800 GT:-

Can run Doom 3 on very high settings (Ultra quality, 1280x1024, 2xAA, all options turned on) pretty well, drops to 10-35 fps during heavy action in large areas, but overall very acceptable.

Half-Life 2 runs virtually flawlessly on the same settings as above...


Not bad for an 18+ month old processor, anyway

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Newcastle 512k @2.2GHz/200MHz HTT
Asus A8V Deluxe (VIA K8T800 Pro)
2,048MB Kingston HyperX DDR400 (2x 512MB/Dual Channel)
180GB Hitachi IDE HD (7,200 RPM)
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB (AGP 8x) OC'd@401MHz/1.06GHz
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 Platinum w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers
19" AG Neovo F-419 TFT (DVI/1280x1024/60-75Hz/15ms)
Thermaltake Purepower 560w PSU
Windows XP Home SP1

 03/01/2005 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TomGreen321
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 02/27/2005

You'll only see something like a 5% difference in GAMES with a Sempron compared to an Athlon XP. If you can get an XP cheap go for it, but if not a higher-end Sempron will play all of your games fine.
 03/01/2005 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

Is a PCI express or agp 8X better?


-------------------------
zzzap!
 03/01/2005 10:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Daduck
Senior Member

Posts: 274
Joined: 12/11/2004

I am guessing that your board does not support PCI - express, so go with agp which is still great IMO.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta 2 LSR
AMD xp-m 2500+ (2.21ghz)//E-power puma 2 450w (12v=28a)
160gig WD hard drive//dvd rom//dvd-/+rw/ 1gig ballistix 3200
ATI X700Pro
 03/01/2005 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

reguardless of my mobo, which is better? I saw a bfg overclocked geforce fx 5700 256 MB LE graphics card. Is that good enough to run doom III on low-medium setting ( also UT 2k4, and HL2?) Then i saw pci express cards and, are they better than the agp 8x? BTW the fx5700LE is agp 8X reguardless of my mobo.

-------------------------
zzzap!
 03/01/2005 10:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

Well, if you have Socket A, PCI-E does not matter - as it is not supported by any motherboard.

There are no significant performance differences between PCI-E and AGP 8X at this time. And there won't be for a while to come. AGP will still be around for at least another 2-3 years.

I would avoid any cards that have an "LE" or "SE" at the end. These are the crippled version's of the "Ultra", "or just plain 5700". Also don't pay attention to the lower end cards with 256 MB of memory. Those cards are aren't fast enough to address all of it, therefore, it will most times go unused - it usually is cheaper, and slower memory, too.

How much are you willing to spend?

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 03/02/2005 12:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

200 bucks and lower.I am Also changing my mobo to a socket 754 w/ sempron
3100 probably but i must get a new mobo at lleast. 9600 pro is better or worse than a 9600 XT?

-------------------------
zzzap!
 03/02/2005 12:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTE (Royal Flush @ Mar 1 2005, 07:21 PM) 200 bucks and lower.I am Also changing my mobo to a socket 754 w/ sempron
3100 probably but i must get a new mobo at lleast. 9600 pro is better or worse than a 9600 XT?
The 9600XT is basically an overclocked 9600pro. So it will perform slightly better, but not by much. If $200 is your price range, you can get a 6600GT for around the same price (online) - and it will perform considerably better.

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 03/02/2005 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Diablo_gate
Member

Posts: 165
Joined: 01/15/2005

Blah, Blah, Blah.

If you have the latest revision of the K75SA then it will run at 166 FSB just fine. However, the 3200+ is a waste in that system since you cannot use the 200FSB (400)and it will be underclacked as indicated.

If you can actually get 166FSB on that board then go for a 2400+ 2600+ or 2800+, whatever has a 333FSB and is cheapest. Although there is a smaller increase as you increase the core frequency, the bigger FSB is where you'll a performance improvement.

As for a video card I have a 9600 pro OEM with 256MB ram. It won't break any 3DMark2003 records but it's smooth as silk in Halflife 2 and Dark Age of Camelot with moderate balanced settings.

So the key points are:

1) If the board can handle 166FSB (333) then go for the cheapest 166FSB (333) processor ie. 2400+, 2600+, or 2800+. I'd look for the one before the biggest price jump, too. example: $79 for 2400+, $89 for 2600+, $125 for 2800+, then go for the 2600+. JUST MAKE SURE IT HAS A 166FSB (333)!

2) If the board cannot handle 166FSB (333) then get the fastest 133FSB (266) you can find, they should all be pretty cheap around about now $40 to $70.

3) Go for a nice cheap 9600 pro with 128 or 256Mb ram. Anything more will be a waste in that system. And with the new cards coming out you won't be able to use AGP 4x/8x in the newer PCI-Express systems.

Go for the cheapest solution You have legacy equipment now

-------------------------
AMD XP-M 2500+ @ 2.2 GHz 46C max temp.
(2.4Ghz at 1.65Vcore and 51C under load)
Vantec Aeroflow V4A-7040 (tip-magentically driven fan FTW)
Antec SLK3700AMB w/ 120mm fans
Abit NF7-S
1024MB Infineon PC3200
Radeon 9600 Pro 256MB

"Do I have the words 'Please correct me everytime I speak.' tattooed on my forehead?" Ben G.
 03/02/2005 01:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

He said he's changing to Socket 754...

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information