AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: XP2500+ (borton) memory question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/08/2003 08:35 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/08/2003 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
@omsmasher
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 11/08/2003

Hi yall,

I'm new to the whole AMD thing as I am in the process of upgrading to an AMD based system. My question is and please don't laugh . Will the XP 2500+ (borton) run with ddr400? I know the proc runs on a 333fsb however will the ram underclock (sorta speek) to that speed and maintain stability.

Thanks for all your help out there, much apreciated.




Soon to be system spec:
AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
512megs ddr400 (pc3200 I believe)
MSI Kt6 Delta LSR
Geforce4 ti4200
SB live 5.1
maxtor d740x 40gig 7200rpm
samsung 40 gig7200rpm

-------------------------
System Includes:

AMD XP2500+ (Barton)
MSI KT6 Delta LSR
512meg DDR400
MSI Geforce4 ti4200
SB live 5.1
Maxtor d740x 40gig
Samsung 40gig 7200rpm
 11/08/2003 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
teknutz
Member

Posts: 44
Joined: 11/08/2003

I'm not laughing, up until this week I was happily running an xp 1800 chip with no intentions of upgrading until my system died. (another story ) In any case, I recently bought a barton xp 2600 chip sitting comfortably on an abit kd7a board. When I contacted AMD tech support, the person I spoke to said that ddr 2700 was fine, which is what I ordered to replace the ddr 2100 I'm running now. The new chip I bought is a 512 meg as opposed to the two 256 - ddr 2100 I was running. From what I was told, the faster memory is great, but for my budget I will be doing fine with the 2700.

Good luck on your new system

-------------------------
Athlon xp 2600 barton/ abit KD7A / 512 cruicial ddr 3200 / twin 40 gig - 7200 rpm drives (one for storage) / burner rom / Sound blaster live/ ATI Radion 9100 / Logitech Z-640
nuthin fancy but it gets me there
 11/08/2003 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
@omsmasher
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 11/08/2003

kewl so the ddr400 will work..... I was worried cuz I'm currently using pc133 type ram with my P3 1ghz and have no experience with ddr... I hope this upgrade is worth it.....lol

Thanks for the info.

-------------------------
System Includes:

AMD XP2500+ (Barton)
MSI KT6 Delta LSR
512meg DDR400
MSI Geforce4 ti4200
SB live 5.1
Maxtor d740x 40gig
Samsung 40gig 7200rpm
 11/08/2003 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
want-high-benchmarks!
Member

Posts: 151
Joined: 11/08/2003

Yeah thats a good question. And like teknutz said you can. Just make sure you have a motherboard that supports it. What are you planning to get?

-------------------------
*Soyo Dragon KT-400 Ultra Black Edition * AMD Athlon XP 2600 333 FSB @ 2.25Ghz 12.5x190 * 1 Gb-2x Kingston 512 Mb PC-2700 DDR-SDRAM * Asylum GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128 MB 302/532 Mhz * Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer * Wester Digital 80 GB Hard drive 7200 RPM with 8 MB cache * Enlight 72500AZ w/ 2 80mm case fans * 17" Compaq CRT * JBL Platinum 2.0 monitor mount set</span
 11/08/2003 09:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BEENTHERE
Senior Member

Posts: 1079
Joined: 10/10/2003

Memory is always backwards compatible within a memory family so DDR400 will run at 400 Mhz or 333 MHz w/o any problems.

-------------------------
If only they knew...
 11/08/2003 09:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
@omsmasher
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 11/08/2003

I put my order in for the MSI kt6 Delta LSR based on the kt6oo chip from VIA, should be in on monday. Its a cheap mobo with a few bells and whistles but should do the trick.

-------------------------
System Includes:

AMD XP2500+ (Barton)
MSI KT6 Delta LSR
512meg DDR400
MSI Geforce4 ti4200
SB live 5.1
Maxtor d740x 40gig
Samsung 40gig 7200rpm
 11/08/2003 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
want-high-benchmarks!
Member

Posts: 151
Joined: 11/08/2003

I only got the KT400, so to me thats a good mobo .

-------------------------
*Soyo Dragon KT-400 Ultra Black Edition * AMD Athlon XP 2600 333 FSB @ 2.25Ghz 12.5x190 * 1 Gb-2x Kingston 512 Mb PC-2700 DDR-SDRAM * Asylum GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128 MB 302/532 Mhz * Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer * Wester Digital 80 GB Hard drive 7200 RPM with 8 MB cache * Enlight 72500AZ w/ 2 80mm case fans * 17" Compaq CRT * JBL Platinum 2.0 monitor mount set</span
 11/08/2003 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
@omsmasher
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 11/08/2003

Thanks for the info BEENTHERE. I wasnt sure if my choice of ram would have worked with the cpu.

Thanks again

-------------------------
System Includes:

AMD XP2500+ (Barton)
MSI KT6 Delta LSR
512meg DDR400
MSI Geforce4 ti4200
SB live 5.1
Maxtor d740x 40gig
Samsung 40gig 7200rpm
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information