AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: XP-M 2800 Specs required please.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/16/2006 05:48 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/16/2006 05:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rintintin
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/16/2006

I have an XP-M 2800 fitted to an MSI KT7 Delta. It will not boot if the FSB is set at above 140mhz which I believe is because the multiplier is set to auto in the bios. Can I change the multiplier to less than the default of X16 because when I do it does not seem to make any difference to the speed of the machine as reported by CPU-Z. I believe the default FSB should be 200 which would tie in with the PC3200 400 mhz ram fitted (2 x 512mb). If anyone is running this board and CPU combination I would be very pleased to here from them soonest. Many thanks.

-------------------------
Athlon XP-M 2800 fitted to MSI KT6 Delta mobo. 2 x 512 mb PC3200. 2 x WD800 80Gb HDD, 1 x 40 gig Hitachi Deskstar. 1 ASUS 52 speed CD writer.
 08/16/2006 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

i think the fsb of mobile xps was 166mhz..

edit: sorry, i mean 266..

-------------------------
 08/16/2006 12:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jack1314
Senior Member

Posts: 487
Joined: 10/05/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: rintintin
I have an XP-M 2800 fitted to an MSI KT7 Delta. It will not boot if the FSB is set at above 140mhz which I believe is because the multiplier is set to auto in the bios. Can I change the multiplier to less than the default of X16 because when I do it does not seem to make any difference to the speed of the machine as reported by CPU-Z. I believe the default FSB should be 200 which would tie in with the PC3200 400 mhz ram fitted (2 x 512mb). If anyone is running this board and CPU combination I would be very pleased to here from them soonest. Many thanks.




XP-M 2800 real speed 2133mhz , 512kb L2 cache , FSB 266mhz effective ( 133mhz actual )

Set your FSB at 133mhz your pc3200 will either underclock itself to run in synch or it will run asynch.
It is better to run in synch unless you intend to o/c

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3000+
2 x 512mb pc2700
Nvidia Geforce4 440 GO 64mb
NEC DVD +/- RW ND-6450A
Windows xp pro
 08/16/2006 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

Well XP-Ms are unlocked so if your BIOS allows manual multiplier changes, you should be able to lower it. So CPU-Z shows the multiplier remains the same?

I don't know your board but is there any chance you also need to change a jumper?

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information