AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD & K7
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/24/2006 02:55 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/24/2006 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MIKEDOB
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/23/2006

I recently acquired a, K7VZA/KT133A 686B, , ver3.0
At least that's what it says on the parallel port.
System info says System model VT8363 Manufacture VIA
System info says bios Ver 6.00PG Award 9/20/2001., SMBIOS ver. 2.3
I down loaded what I think is the right mob manual & it says it accommodates
AMD Athlon (K7) processors that support FSB speeds up to 200/266 MHz. ?????

The PCI IDE supports PIO Mode 3 & 4, UDMA33/66/100 IDE ..According to this manual.
And accommodates PC 100/133 SDRAM


Right now I am using a AMD Athlon 900 MHz (A0900AMT3B) socket A(462)
With 2x 256mb,1x 128mb 133 SDRAM. 2x 40GBs W.D.Hard drives .
A 128 GeForce FX 5200plus AGP vido card.
2x DVDrw /cd Drives, a 4 port USBcard, NICcard, & a fax modem card.
A ANTEC 500wat smart power 2.0
I also added a better cpu fan (copper pro gamer fan COMP USA brand) & a case fan.

RUNNING XP PRO
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What is the fastest or best cpu I can use?

The card has jumpers and bios settings for FSB 100/133 ? I changed something in bios
The DRAM Clock was PC100 changed to PC133. hope I did ok the cpu is 100 (till I get a better one) ???

Another setting in the Bios is" CPU/PCI/Spread Spec." It's on default, the other choices are
100/33Mhz/-0.5% , 100/33Mhz/off , 100/33Mhz/+_0.5% , 102/34Mhz/off , 104/35Mhz/off,
106/35Mhz/off , 107/35, 108/36,109/36,& so on, 110/37,111/37, up to, 112/37Mhz/off ?
I need more info on this one??

Didnt change jumpers. There set for 100 FSB should I change them to 133,or wait till I upgrade the CPU.?

I was also wondering if a 133 ide controller card wood help the dvd drives I heard it wouldn't
Help the hd drives since ide technology never advanced to high enough speeds. Is this true?

MAINLY I am looking for the best processor I can use. And what bios settings I need to change.
I herd I could put a 333 FSB ??
I LIKE TO KNOW IF THE ATHLON XP 's wood work & what's the fastest one I can use.

THANKS MIKE !!
 03/24/2006 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

try everest home http://www.majorgeeks.com/EVER...ree_Edition_d4181.html

it will tell you which mobo you have.

i think the fastest cpu you can have is the Athlon XP 2400+

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 03/24/2006 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

ECS K7VZA...

There are a few revisions available.

www.ecs.com.tw

I can no longer find any links to it at ecs's website.


-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information