AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: "Homemade" heatsink
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/27/2006 07:46 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/27/2006 07:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

hey i have a Athlon XP 2200+, and recently my board refused to boot up because it said the cpu fan wasnt working, which it was, but i thought, a fan on the heatsink has around two years life time, so its time to change it, which i did, i just changed the fan making it a home made heatsink.

Now the temps im having im not sure if they're normal or not, i havent tested it fully but i get between 38/39 C in idle at BIOS screen, with the fan working at 2500rpms, its been like that for about two hours, is that normal temp for it?
 02/27/2006 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Yes, that's fine.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 02/28/2006 03:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

thats good temps.. whats the temp at load?

-------------------------
 02/28/2006 07:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

I have not tried anything yet, but Iºm gonna now.
 02/28/2006 09:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

I'm having a problem with this.

The temp is fine but when I try to boot Windows up it halts in the middle of it, it just freezes, I tried to run Ubunto through the Live CD it says kernel error (when before no errors at all) and I tried to run XP install CD and after it loads up the first part, when it tries to run the installation itself it freezes also, I don't know what it is!! It worked fine before what can it be?

I checked memory no problems there, hard drive is good, BIOS settings are on default, with the necessary changes on HDD and memory speed to 233 (i decreased it from 333 thinking that could be it)

What can be causing this??
 02/28/2006 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

try setting it to 266 (same speed of ur cpu)

-------------------------
 02/28/2006 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

Changed it to 266, still not working, downclocked the CPU frequency to 100 so it would work as a 1500+ and still the same problem.

edit: the temperature is still completely normal and within those values i first said
 02/28/2006 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

reset ur cmos..
try "memtest" to see if there is a problem with ur memory..

-------------------------
 02/28/2006 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CaysE
Senior Member

Posts: 296
Joined: 01/04/2005

Is the heatsink contacting anything on the processor besides the core?

-------------------------
 02/28/2006 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Bad caps??

Check the board for bulging or leaking capacitors. What motherboard is it?

While you're at it, list the rest of the hardware.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 02/28/2006 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

reseted cmos and ran memtest and no problem found on the memory.

the board is a msi KT4V
3x256 of memory OEM
nVidia TNT32
Seagate 80GB HD
LG CDRW

nothing else connected, i dont know what you guys mean by "bad caps". im going to try to reseat the processor and heatsink (my last resort).
 02/28/2006 05:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

for some reason windows is now able to boot up only under safe mode and very seldomly

edit: the capacitors seem fine, no bulges or leaking
 03/01/2006 03:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

try the system with only cpu, vga, and one memory module alone..

-------------------------
 03/01/2006 06:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

I disabled every single mother board feature (Audio, LAN, USB, etc..) reseated the heatsink again, tried with and without CD rom player, with a diferent VGA, with one of the three memory modules (tried each one individually).

Windows still doesn't work except on safe mode without network, no live linux cds ive tried work, they boot up but then stop in the middle with a kernel error (i don't know linux so i don't know what those errors are about).

I have no idea what it can be, memtest reveals no errors on the RAM memory, I tried memtest again, this time i messed around it and asked it to test all BIOS memory (?? im not sure of this) and there it tested something where it gives errors non stop, I don't know how to interpert these error messages, I went on memtest site and it doesn't help much.

What do you guys think?
 03/01/2006 11:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

do virus scan and spyware scan to at least rule that out.
also, i'd suggest doing a bootlog for a failed boot attempt.
see here http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...wtop...ndpost&p=626735

so if you do it right, you will have a ntbtlog.txt containing a failed boot attempt.

the last item listed in the boot log would be the item that windows is choking on and would give a clue as to what is screwing up.

have you tried running the computer bare bones yet? no optical drives, 1 hard drive, 1 stick of ram, no sound card etc..

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 03/04/2006 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

@zeppelinrox

1st. You're not getting it. XP freezes during the boot on normal mode (I tried to make it to log its boot, but it doesn't log a single thing, after it froze I manage to boot it under safety mode and it works fine there) , its not spyware or virus because it was a clean install right before the heatsink switch, and not connected to the net, so we can also rule out spyware, it had nothing installed yet.

2nd. I have ran it to the bare bones. No optical drives or HDD, no sound card, no ethernet card, no IDE ports, no FDD port, no USB ports, I have turned off every single board feature and setting one by one trying to see if any of them would trigger any reaction. I have reseted it to the CMOS defaults, I have reseted it to BIOS defaults, and reseted it to High Perfomance defaults, and no change.

3rd. When I reseted CMOS, I got a message saying CMOS/GPNV Checksum bad. What does it mean?
 03/04/2006 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

well it works in safe mode so probably a windows/software/driver problem.
nothing to lose if you just reinstall windows again

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 03/04/2006 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
well it works in safe mode so probably a windows/software/driver problem.
nothing to lose if you just reinstall windows again



XP instalation freezes after the load screen just like XP itself /mellow.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":mellow:" border="0" alt="mellow.gif" />

i think the best solution would be to "throw this thing in the trash can"
 03/04/2006 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

hmmm.. will it install with 1 stick of ram?

what are the other system specs?
maybe a weak power supply

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 03/04/2006 05:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redsheep
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 02/27/2006

I've tried with another power supply and I've tried with just one module of RAM, and with each one that I have, and still no change.

Specs (as above):

AMD Athlon XP 2200+
MSI KT4V
3x256 of memory OEM
nVidia TNT32
Seagate 80GB HD
LG CDRW
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information