AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: athlon 1700+ to 3200+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/26/2006 04:31 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/26/2006 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
greensky11
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/26/2006

/blink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blink:" border="0" alt="blink.gif" /> [font=Microsoft Sans Serif] Hello there everyone
I'm the newby on the block and have a question for all you experts out there. Have an older system hp512c and runs a 1700+. would like to install a 3200+ but not sure if i should just buy a new comp. after a friend of mine tried to install a new processor on his hp and it would not recognize the system. What do I need to know in order to see if it is compatible? Thanx in advance
 03/26/2006 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kirbalo
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 06/22/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: greensky11
/blink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blink:" border="0" alt="blink.gif" /> [font=Microsoft Sans Serif] Hello there everyone
I'm the newby on the block and have a question for all you experts out there. Have an older system hp512c and runs a 1700+. would like to install a 3200+ but not sure if i should just buy a new comp. after a friend of mine tried to install a new processor on his hp and it would not recognize the system. What do I need to know in order to see if it is compatible? Thanx in advance



If you decide to upgrade, a 2400+ with the same FSB speed (266 MHz) would be easier. Your HP BIOS is probably very limited in what you can do. I probably won't recognize the 3200+ (400 MHz FSB) and would underclock.

Whether you decide to buy or upgrade is up to you...there are some sweet deals out there if you don't want to build your own. It's all about the money you have to spend...



-------------------------
My Rigs:

Athlon 64 3400+ (CG) @ 2.4GHz, Asus K8N-E Deluxe, 2 GB OCZ DDR400, BFG nVidia 6800OC 128MB, Seagate 200GB PATA, Seagate 160GB PATA, Dual Boot XP and x64, Antec 350W Mid-Tower

Athlon 64 3400+ (E3) @ 2.4GHz, Asus K8N-E Deluxe, 2 GB OCZ DDR400, eVGA nVidia 6800 128MB, Seagate 320GB SATA, Vista x64, Antec 350W Mid-Tower
 03/26/2006 06:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Just buy a new comp.

Seriously though, don't expect it to work just like that. The motherboard, memory and power supply need to be compatible.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 03/26/2006 11:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
greensky11
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/26/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: bogey
Just buy a new comp.

Seriously though, don't expect it to work just like that. The motherboard, memory and power supply need to be compatible.



That's what I figure since the pc is already 4 yrs. old. maybe some alienware.... just kidding. Thanks folks. I'll be back..
 03/27/2006 09:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwsm
Senior Member

Posts: 491
Joined: 08/02/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: bogey Just buy a new comp.
Either that, or better yet, build your own. That is what I would do. Your current system will not support a 3200+. Upgrading to a 3200+ will also require upgrading the motherboard, ram and the puny 200/250W "power supply" that usually comes with these oems as well. So, it is not as simple as just taking out the 1700 and dropping in a 3200 and off you go. Instead of trying to upgrade old technology, your money will be better spent on newer, faster and better technology like A64 and pcie. You really should not go the oem route if possible but consider building your next one on your own. It is not that hard, plus you get the satisfaction of knowing you had put together your very own system.

-------------------------
There are two kinds of people in the computing world.....those who have lost data, and those who will.
If your data is worth anything, back it up!
 03/27/2006 01:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
greensky11
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/26/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: jwsm
Either that, or better yet, build your own. That is what I would do. Your current system will not support a 3200+. Upgrading to a 3200+ will also require upgrading the motherboard, ram and the puny 200/250W "power supply" that usually comes with these oems as well. So, it is not as simple as just taking out the 1700 and dropping in a 3200 and off you go. Instead of trying to upgrade old technology, your money will be better spent on newer, faster and better technology like A64 and pcie. You really should not go the oem route if possible but consider building your next one on your own. It is not that hard, plus you get the satisfaction of knowing you had put together your very own system.



Cool. I really appreciate all the input. Another guy I know here says the same thing. So my son gets mine and I get a gaming monster. heh-heh. I'll be back...
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information