AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Overclocking...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/06/2003 04:59 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/06/2003 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackal05
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (XeoBllaze @ Oct 6 2003, 02:20 PM) Jesus... 30C and lower are great temps! I'm getting about 35C idle, and around the high 40's - low 50's full load!
Man the highest I have ever been is 31 degrees in hot summer days! Right now it has been on for 5 hours and it' just 27!

-------------------------
[ AMD Athlon XP 2500+ | ATI Redeaon 9600 pro | Just a few goodies in my Zillion Pro! ]
[ Cool Stuff | The Moderating Team' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=Stats&CODE=leaders | Today's Active Posts' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...=Search&CODE=getactive | Toda
 10/06/2003 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricjax99
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Jackal05 @ Oct 6 2003, 01:43 PM)Void Warranty?  Not in my wishlist specially when having the risk to burn out the chip. But is there a certain point that is a "safe point" without any risks? (speed)
Did you buy you cpu in a retail pack (ie with the fan & cpu in one plastic box) or did you just by the bear chip (OEM/Tray <--Same thing ). If its the second of the 2 (OEM) then youdont have a warranty with AMD it'sdown to your retailer, if its the first you get a 3yr AMD warranty however if its very rare you need to use it it any time in the first three years.

As for safe, if you dont increase the voltage you dont have any risk as thats really the main thing that shortens the lifespan of CPU's (no by a massive amount tho). As long as your temps look got you shoult be ok Starting block would be 200fsb x 11 multiplier with no voltage adjustment, if that works rejoce you just got your self a free XP 3200+

And yes tornio, Onion Assimilation has begun

-------------------------
...regards teh' ricjax99
' ">http://tinyurl.com/25lp4
[Team CPUCITY | Air Cooled] 3DMark 2001 SE = 22299' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7793456 | AM3 = <a href=
 10/06/2003 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thresher
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (ricjax99 @ Oct 6 2003, 06:47 PM) And yes tornio, Onion Assimilation has begun
Good!

-------------------------

3DMark 2001SE- Stock Card' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6833620
3DMark 2001SE- Card Overclocked' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 06:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackal05
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (ricjax99 @ Oct 6 2003, 02:47 PM) QUOTE (Jackal05 @ Oct 6 2003, 01:43 PM)Void Warranty?  Not in my wishlist specially when having the risk to burn out the chip. But is there a certain point that is a "safe point" without any risks? (speed)
Did you buy you cpu in a retail pack (ie with the fan & cpu in one plastic box) or did you just by the bear chip (OEM/Tray <--Same thing ). If its the second of the 2 (OEM) then youdont have a warranty with AMD it'sdown to your retailer, if its the first you get a 3yr AMD warranty however if its very rare you need to use it it any time in the first three years.

As for safe, if you dont increase the voltage you dont have any risk as thats really the main thing that shortens the lifespan of CPU's (no by a massive amount tho). As long as your temps look got you shoult be ok Starting block would be 200fsb x 11 multiplier with no voltage adjustment, if that works rejoce you just got your self a free XP 3200+

And yes tornio, Onion Assimilation has begun
It came with my PC.

-------------------------
[ AMD Athlon XP 2500+ | ATI Redeaon 9600 pro | Just a few goodies in my Zillion Pro! ]
[ Cool Stuff | The Moderating Team' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=Stats&CODE=leaders | Today's Active Posts' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...=Search&CODE=getactive | Toda
 10/06/2003 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegetto
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/06/2003

*Gasp* Overclocking, AMD would be ashamed of all you!

Anyways, Ive got a week 24 AQXEA, but I have yet to overclock it since my PSU rails suck

We'll see how it does when I get my new PSU and lap my SLK900U
 10/06/2003 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Les73gtx
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/06/2003

I have a "old" 2600+ 333FSB (AXDA2600KV3D:AJUHB0247WPGW) I bought OEM in Nov or Dec of 2002 I have been overclocking it since Jan of 2003 on stock voltage with no Problems

I'm @ 205 FSB and 11.0 Multiplier for 2260MHz

Now that I am Watercooling I will try to play with the voltages and see if the multiplier can be pushed up any.

BTW, my watercooled rig runs 31c no matter what the load is or the ambient temp.

So your 27c is great for air cooling.
 10/07/2003 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
compboy494
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (John @ Oct 6 2003, 01:52 PM) I think you void the warranty the second you start to overclock the processor. AMD can find out easily .
No one can tell the processor was overclocked. It is impossible. They can tell if you chipped the core or ran it without any paste. The processor doesn't store memory that tells how high it was running.

-------------------------
MSI KT4V AMD 2500+ @2.08GHZ 2xWestern Digital 80GB SE HD's FX5900NU 1024MB OCsystem PC3200 w/copper heatspreaders Sound Blaster Audigy Netgear GA302 Gigabit Lite-on 52x24x52 CDRW Matshita 16X DVD-ROM
 10/07/2003 05:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

20-30 C coool

my station only have 45-48.5 C at 2310 Ghz ( 210X11)

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/07/2003 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (brian_brian @ Oct 7 2003, 04:23 AM)20-30 C  coool 

my station only have 45-48.5 C at 2310 Ghz ( 210X11) 
Is that the die temp or socket temps you guys are reading?

Die temps can be 10C and more over socket temps. I've seen my Barton die temp hit 64C this past summer @ 2315MHz running prime95, Aeroflow hs/fan.

I've over clocked every AMD CPU I've had since the K6-166 (Barton 2800+ is my 12th AMD CPU since a K5-90 in 1996). Not one AMD CPU has failed me, if a PIB part did fail I wouldn't ask AMD to replace it, only an A-hole would OC a CPU, blow it up and then ask for a free replacement, THAT AIN'T RIGHT!

The systems I build for family and friends use nothing but AMD,( if you want Intel go see somebody else ), these people do not over clock at all so I use nothing but PIB parts in those systems , if any of these chips should happen to die I would expect AMD to live up to the Warr. Bur again... zero failure rate.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information