AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Finding the Barton 2800+ 266FSB DTR
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/06/2003 05:28 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/06/2003 05:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

I saw that there was a Barton 2800+ that runs with a 266FSB introduced a few months ago. It was identified as a DTR (desktop replacement)

Does anyone know where they are for sale? I think the vendors just list on the basis of the 2800+ and do not consider the FSB.

Thanks
 10/06/2003 05:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackal05
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/06/2003

If you can't order it from AMD (directly) your best bet is to try EBay.
If not try PCWorld you never know.
Also you should be able to find it in a local electronics store since it was introduced a few months back.

-------------------------
[ AMD Athlon XP 2500+ | ATI Redeaon 9600 pro | Just a few goodies in my Zillion Pro! ]
[ Cool Stuff | The Moderating Team' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=Stats&CODE=leaders | Today's Active Posts' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...=Search&CODE=getactive | Toda
 10/06/2003 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

Thanks

My local store is a small one called Frys <g>

They just list XPs by PR rating.

Haven't seen the AMD rep in there since the launch of the K6.

I was hoping that AMD would set up a banner and a stand when they intro'ed AMD64 - after all many, many of the people who go in there are tech specialists. Frys had 4 AMD64 motherboards in stock and not one on display - I had to ask and they pointed to them on a bottom shelf.
 10/06/2003 06:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

OK I took your advice and tried to order it from AMD directly.

The front page took me to:

https://aac.avnet.com/AMDstore/index.jsp' ">https://aac.avnet.com/AMDstore/index.jsp

And low and behold all the PIBs are just listed by PR rating! Not a 2800+ 266FSB DTR to be seen.

OK, time for a moderator's input please. Kinda strange when we can't buy a product that we want?
 10/06/2003 06:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackal05
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/06/2003

Your best bet is PCWorld or PriceGrabber.com Go there and search for it. It should be there somewhere it has to be found there trust me.

-------------------------
[ AMD Athlon XP 2500+ | ATI Redeaon 9600 pro | Just a few goodies in my Zillion Pro! ]
[ Cool Stuff | The Moderating Team' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=Stats&CODE=leaders | Today's Active Posts' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...=Search&CODE=getactive | Toda
 10/06/2003 06:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackal05
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/06/2003

Did ya a favor in a small search.
Click here!' ">http://pcworld.pricegrabber.co...ts&ut=44bdf484ec197e84

-------------------------
[ AMD Athlon XP 2500+ | ATI Redeaon 9600 pro | Just a few goodies in my Zillion Pro! ]
[ Cool Stuff | The Moderating Team' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=Stats&CODE=leaders | Today's Active Posts' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...=Search&CODE=getactive | Toda
 10/06/2003 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Peritus
Member

Posts: 31
Joined: 10/06/2003

DTRs (desk top replacements) are actually mobile processors. These are a new breed of more powerful laptop systems. These systems are designed to be mobile (taken from place to place) but the battery life won't compare to standard mobile processors. They make a great lan party system!

Check with your motherboard maker to see if they would even support the lower voltage requirements. DTR's are not made for desktop use.
 10/06/2003 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

Thanks Jackal05

I did the same search.

As you can see there are no hits for the 2800+ 266FSB.

I did a search a few weeks ago and found nothing. I found some references on pricewatch but they were errors in the listing, the parts were actually 333FSBs

I see that they are listed as XP-Ms in the price list and have a $5 premium over the 333FSB models ($185 vs $180)

I think the voltage will not be a problem as the datasheet IIRC lists them as normal voltage.

Still can't find them!
 10/06/2003 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackal05
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/06/2003

Remember in situations like this Google is always you best bud.

-------------------------
[ AMD Athlon XP 2500+ | ATI Redeaon 9600 pro | Just a few goodies in my Zillion Pro! ]
[ Cool Stuff | The Moderating Team' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=Stats&CODE=leaders | Today's Active Posts' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...=Search&CODE=getactive | Toda
 10/06/2003 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yup Googled it.

Nothing.
 10/06/2003 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackal05
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/06/2003

Then what you are looking for does not exist. You have to have at least one result. Check your spelling.

-------------------------
[ AMD Athlon XP 2500+ | ATI Redeaon 9600 pro | Just a few goodies in my Zillion Pro! ]
[ Cool Stuff | The Moderating Team' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=Stats&CODE=leaders | Today's Active Posts' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...=Search&CODE=getactive | Toda
 10/06/2003 07:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

i was unware that the bartons ever came with a 266FSB...news to me

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 10/06/2003 07:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

to my knowledge there hasnt been any 2800+ with a 266MHz FSB, the last being a 2400+ i believe

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 10/06/2003 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

Jackal05:

I have hits but none for sale.


Here's the details for those who do not believe:

http://www.search4hardware.com...72_A...XP-M_2800_.html' ">http://www.search4hardware.com...Athlon_XP-M_2800_.html
 10/06/2003 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Peritus
Member

Posts: 31
Joined: 10/06/2003

Take a look at a table from AskAMD:

http://ask.amd.com/SRVS/CGI-BI....EXE...A595C,Case=1224' ">http://ask.amd.com/SRVS/CGI-BI...20EB3D8A595C,Case=1224

 10/06/2003 08:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

And the June 17, 2003 press release from AMD:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Corpo...tual...3~71941,00.html' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Corpo..._104_543~71941,00.html
 10/06/2003 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

Thanks Peritus but I think the 2800+ 266FSB is an XP-M part, that's why its not in your table.
 10/06/2003 09:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackal05
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 10/06/2003

E-Bay has to have it.

-------------------------
[ AMD Athlon XP 2500+ | ATI Redeaon 9600 pro | Just a few goodies in my Zillion Pro! ]
[ Cool Stuff | The Moderating Team' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=Stats&CODE=leaders | Today's Active Posts' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...=Search&CODE=getactive | Toda
 10/07/2003 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

Well here's why its interesting:

Its use is to upgrade some 1800+ units we have that are stable - used mainly for video they just work but always a bit of extra speed would not go amiss.

We don't want to swap out the motherboards as that would involve too much work and the motherboards only support 266FSB.

Going from 1800 to 2800 is quite a big gain.

With a larger cache I am less concerned about the FSB, the cache does its job and reduces traffic to main memory. With the kinds of apps we use it would still be a big gain over the 1800+ at 266FSB - we are compute bound rather than data starved (conversions to MPEG2, MPEG4 is always compute bound)

We may just bite the bullet and buy Athlon64s but I hate to throw out perfectly good Athlon boxes. We could no doubt find a nice home for them somewhere, playing out their days on some FPS game.

So anyone listening at AMD? Where is it!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information