AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon XP 1700+ JIUHB
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/06/2003 07:40 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/06/2003 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hikari
Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 10/06/2003

I´ve bought my Athlon XP 1700+ JIUHB 0312 28 1.6V and run it on my old A7S333. This mobo doesn´t have Vcore regulation.

But now I bought a Chaintech 7NJS and the second thing I did was to try to undervolt it. The first was to put it on the limit of the multiplier and the RAM: 12.5 x 147MHz = 1840MHz.

With this clock I put the Vcore today to 1.5V. With 1.475V the 3DMark 2001 SE closed before 10min of loop. It´s running with 1.5V right now (I hope ) at my home to test rock-solid stability.

But, if there are JIUHBs with 1.5V and 1.6V, and my 1.6V one can work stable with 1.5V, would all the JIUHBs be the same?


It would be verry cool if AMD tells us what happend between February 16th and March 22th at their foundries
I´m kidding

Mine is not one of the best one, it´s from 12th week. My friend has a original 1.5V 0309. I´ll ask him to try undervolt on his one too!


Anyone has more info???
 10/06/2003 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thresher
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 10/06/2003

My DUT3C JIUHB 1700+ can run at XP2000+ speeds at 1.5 Volts.

It's once I break the 2200+ barrier that I have to put the voltage up to 1.65 to get it to be stable.
At 2600+ I have to put it to 1.7 I believe to keep it stable, but I never tested it at this speed.

I should bump it up, and Run Prime95 for a while.




Ya know what? I think I'll do that right now! I'll go into my bios, bump her up to 2600+, put the voltage up, and run Prime 95 while I watch the Red Sox Game.

Hope all goes well.

-------------------------

3DMark 2001SE- Stock Card' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6833620
3DMark 2001SE- Card Overclocked' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 07:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thresher
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (jbkgandme @ Oct 6 2003, 07:51 PM) he he, go thresher! good luck, the first LIVE overclock on the AMD forums i believe
They're probably writing my name down as I post this on the list of "RMA's never to be accepted"!

-------------------------

3DMark 2001SE- Stock Card' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6833620
3DMark 2001SE- Card Overclocked' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CEHowell
Member

Posts: 189
Joined: 10/06/2003

I run my JIUHB 0302 DUT3C on a Cascade Waterblock. It will run 2000Mhz at 1.575v. It will run 2250Mhz at 1.8v. and 2400Mhz at 2.1v. Eheim 1250 pump, Dtek Radiator Shroud combo. at 1.8v 2250Mhz I idle at 31C and full load at 34C.
 10/06/2003 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thresher
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 10/06/2003

51 minutes into Prime 95, and I got an error.

Stupid KT4 only goes up to 1.7 on the VCore.
How am I supposed to overclock with that kind of crap?

I had my 1ghz T-Bird running at 1.8!



Good enough to go higher for benching, though.
Temps were only at around 40C for the CPU.



I need an nForce 2 and a Prommie!

-------------------------

3DMark 2001SE- Stock Card' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6833620
3DMark 2001SE- Card Overclocked' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CoastDragon
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/06/2003

what stepping is newegg's 1700+'s these days?

-------------------------
:: MadOnion AmdMe
 10/06/2003 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thresher
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 10/06/2003

Last I heard, most 1700+ from Newegg are T-Bred A models.

Not the oh so overclockable B's.

-------------------------

3DMark 2001SE- Stock Card' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6833620
3DMark 2001SE- Card Overclocked' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (xxxfreestyler250 @ Oct 6 2003, 07:06 PM) QUOTE (Thresher @ Oct 6 2003, 05:21 PM) Last I heard, most 1700+ from Newegg are T-Bred A models.

Not the oh so overclockable B's.
I never knew there were Tbred A's anything other than a 2200+????
there's 1700+, 1800+, 2000+, 2100+ & 2200+ in tbred A flavour.

strangely there have been no 1900+ tbreds.

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/07/2003 06:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hikari
Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (jbkgandme @ Oct 6 2003, 03:45 PM) is this to lower temps, prolong life or another reason?
With lower voltage the temperature is lower too. The question is if it will be stable with undervoltage and overclock
 10/07/2003 06:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian
Member

Posts: 98
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Thresher @ Oct 7 2003, 09:21 AM) Last I heard, most 1700+ from Newegg are T-Bred A models.

Not the oh so overclockable B's.
those were happening back a few months ago
now it seems like they are shipping t-bred b's again

-------------------------
Folding For Team AnandTech Distributed Computing' ">http://forums.anandtech.com/categories.cfm?catid=39

My Humble Forums' ">http://forums.hellstormraiders.com
 10/07/2003 06:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hikari
Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (CEHowell @ Oct 6 2003, 04:05 PM) I run my JIUHB 0302 DUT3C on a Cascade Waterblock. It will run 2000Mhz at 1.575v. It will run 2250Mhz at 1.8v. and 2400Mhz at 2.1v. Eheim 1250 pump, Dtek Radiator Shroud combo. at 1.8v 2250Mhz I idle at 31C and full load at 34C.
wow these are very good temps!

I'm right now at 10x168 1.5V at 49º
 10/07/2003 06:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hikari
Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Thresher @ Oct 6 2003, 04:56 PM)51 minutes into Prime 95, and I got an error.

Stupid KT4 only goes up to 1.7 on the VCore.
How am I supposed to overclock with that kind of crap?

I had my 1ghz T-Bird running at 1.8!



Good enough to go higher for benching, though.
Temps were only at around 40C for the CPU.



I need an nForce 2 and a Prommie!
hehehe 51min is very good but not enough
My Chaintech 7NJS goes ut to 2.1V Vcore, very good

But benchs at this almost-stable-status isn't valid
 10/07/2003 06:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hikari
Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (PorBleemo @ Oct 6 2003, 05:35 PM)Some users with special software or hacked BIOS' can get these down to 1.1v stable and sometimes even lower. 
WOW!
 10/07/2003 06:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian
Member

Posts: 98
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Hikari @ Oct 7 2003, 06:30 PM) QUOTE (PorBleemo @ Oct 6 2003, 05:35 PM)Some users with special software or hacked BIOS' can get these down to 1.1v stable and sometimes even lower. 
WOW!
imo, i think they had to underclock it too

-------------------------
Folding For Team AnandTech Distributed Computing' ">http://forums.anandtech.com/categories.cfm?catid=39

My Humble Forums' ">http://forums.hellstormraiders.com
 10/07/2003 06:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hikari
Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 10/06/2003

Well everybody, I have news.

Yesterday I put my JIUHB at a rock-solid test running VirtualDub on background encoding a movie of 1h30min with many filters. I programmed it to repeat the encode 15 times and opened 3DMark2001SE and put it at a benchmark loop.

Unfortunately when I arrived I got the messange that VD had modified one window and got 3DMark's control of screen. Disrespecting that, VirtualDub was encoding the video yet. I consider it sofficient to attest stability to my CPU at 1840MHz @ 1.5V, but I'll do more tests with overs yet.

I highed the Samsung timings to 2.5-3-3-5 and now I'm running at 10x168MHz stable. Soon I'll try to increase FSB and multi and make more stability tests. Wait for this




This is the complete specs of JIUHB and Samsung:

AXDA1700DUT3C 9494057281364
JIUHB 0312XPMW


SAMSUNG 223
K4H560838C-TCB0



I have another question, I would like to many people to say the easiness of finding JIUHBs at their places. Let's try to map for where most of them went.

Here, in Itaúna - Minas Gerais - Brazil a friend of mine bought his JIUHB 0309 from a store in Mateus Leme, that for its time bought it in Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais's capital. I bought mine in Mateus Leme too.
I know in Q2 JIUHBs were very popular in some stores of Belo Horizonte, "now only it is coming these ones" they said. But now they ended of course
Unhappily many of who bought them don't know their potencial and didn't do overs on them
On August I traveled to São Paulo and found a JIUHB at a store in the neighborhood Santa Efigênia, but just one.


Well give us your depositions too
 10/07/2003 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hikari
Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Brian @ Oct 7 2003, 02:31 AM)QUOTE (Hikari @ Oct 7 2003, 06:30 PM) QUOTE (PorBleemo @ Oct 6 2003, 05:35 PM)Some users with special software or hacked BIOS' can get these down to 1.1v stable and sometimes even lower. 
WOW!
imo, i think they had to underclock it too
See this http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=353' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=353

Really very incredible
 10/07/2003 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

i'm running my 1700+ DLT3C at 1.83GHz(166x11.0) on stock Vcore(1.5V) - and that's with a 200W PSU

Tresher - what cooling did you use to OC a T-Bird to 1.8GHz?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/07/2003 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hikari
Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (PorBleemo @ Oct 7 2003, 04:29 AM)EDIT: Hikari's link for DropaDrop's computer is the correct picture.  Impressive, eh?  If you are interested in undervolting/underclocking go to forums.silentpcreview.com because they do a lot of that stuff there.

AMD needs more of these processors!  Imagine how good they would OC!   Not to mention how cool they would stay at default speeds.
In my case it became hotter

Before the undervolt it was 49º in CBox2, after it was 52º. It´s sure the last day are very hot here, but I suppose the decrease in teperature would be more visible, as the increase with overclock.

Now I want to know how they did it, because with 1.475V @ 11x133MHz it became instable!

But undervolt combined with overclock is really very fun
 10/07/2003 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thresher
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Hellraiser @ Oct 7 2003, 11:30 AM) Tresher - what cooling did you use to OC a T-Bird to 1.8GHz?

I only had it to 1.26ghz.
I had the VCore at 1.8, and on my current board, it only does 1.7 as the max.
I couldn't even overclock that little beast on this board.

-------------------------

3DMark 2001SE- Stock Card' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6833620
3DMark 2001SE- Card Overclocked' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1
:: MadOnion
 10/07/2003 02:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian
Member

Posts: 98
Joined: 10/06/2003

well, i have the famous 0310's which were all DLT3C's
got a 0310WMPW

-------------------------
Folding For Team AnandTech Distributed Computing' ">http://forums.anandtech.com/categories.cfm?catid=39

My Humble Forums' ">http://forums.hellstormraiders.com
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information