AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: ***another is it worth it upgrade question***
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/09/2007 09:02 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/09/2007 09:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ttman
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/08/2007

Yes this another is it worth it to upgrade question. I want to go from an athlon 1.2ghz to athlon XP 2000. will this be a significant upgrade? mobo is Asus A7V-133. is the difference between the 2 chips just speed or is there a (considerable) generation difference?

I've been reading... it seems the upgrades depend on the PCB model revision #. is there a way to check this w/o opening the case?

any opinions welcomed.
 01/09/2007 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown I want to go from an athlon 1.2ghz to athlon XP 2000. will this be a significant upgrade?

if u can find the 2000+ for cheap, itll be a good upgrade..

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown I've been reading... it seems the upgrades depend on the PCB model revision #. is there a way to check this w/o opening the case?

http://support.asus.com/cpusup...supp...mp;model=A7V133
i think ull have to open the case and read the pcb version written on the mobo itself..

-------------------------
 01/09/2007 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
soxnation85xx
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/09/2007

Any upgrade to a CPU is worth it. Is it worth the money you earn...
 01/09/2007 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GrGaKC
Senior Member

Posts: 277
Joined: 08/19/2006

It'd be worth it considering the performance gain, but only if the CPU isn't too expensive. Also, I think you'd need to update your BIOS in order for the new CPU to be recognized.

-------------------------
Athlon XP2500+ @ 2200MHz (Barton) | Soltek 75FRN2-LR nForce2 chipset<br>1GB Kingmax (2x512MB Dual Channel, 2-3-3-9) | GeForce 6600 256MB

http://classicplatforms.com/forum/index.php - a laid back place for computer-inclined
 01/09/2007 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ttman
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/08/2007

OK my PCB is rev 1.05. is the difference between the XP 2000+ and the Athlon 1.2ghz just speed?
 01/09/2007 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

XP has SSE. Big difference there alone just in software compatability and SSE/FPU speed. Its 1.6ghz if I remember right. Be diff core that should use roughly same or slightly less power. The athlon 900 tbird and 1200mhz I had ran HOT and toasty. Do you know if its a Thoroughbred (Tbred) A or B core? The B's had a extra substrate layer or something (long time ago so dont quote me on that) LOL. At anyrate they often oclocked well.
 01/10/2007 03:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GrGaKC
Senior Member

Posts: 277
Joined: 08/19/2006

Xtreeme, don't forget the Thorton core, which can be modded (some, not all) to become Barton.

-------------------------
Athlon XP2500+ @ 2200MHz (Barton) | Soltek 75FRN2-LR nForce2 chipset<br>1GB Kingmax (2x512MB Dual Channel, 2-3-3-9) | GeForce 6600 256MB

http://classicplatforms.com/forum/index.php - a laid back place for computer-inclined
 01/10/2007 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aetius
Senior Member

Posts: 218
Joined: 07/19/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: ttman
Yes this another is it worth it to upgrade question. I want to go from an athlon 1.2ghz to athlon XP 2000. will this be a significant upgrade? mobo is Asus A7V-133. is the difference between the 2 chips just speed or is there a (considerable) generation difference?

I've been reading... it seems the upgrades depend on the PCB model revision #. is there a way to check this w/o opening the case?

any opinions welcomed.



Well over the 1.2ghz TB an XP 2000 would be an excellent upgrade but I would kind of look at the MB you are using. I also had an Asus A7v-133A mb with a 1.4ghz TB, I was looking around back then to put a XP 1900 or 2000 in but read alot of negatives where people tried and it did not work right. My rev was 1.05 with the lastest bios then (1.0.7 or 8 I think) and even those had serious problems with XP cpu's.

Also the XP will be kind of slowed down with PC-133 ram, I built a newer (with older parts) system using the same 1.4ghz/266 Thunderbird and a KT 266A MB with DDR ram and the performance was much better over the PC-133 DRAM of my older Asus board.


-------------------------
Main system,
AMD 64 3700+ San Diego 1mb L2, ASUS A8v, 2.0gb Corsair Twin-X, PNY 6800GS(T) 256mb 16/6,WD 250gb 7200/8, Sony DRU-710a,LG DVD-16x, Windows XP Pro SP2, Enermax Noisetaker 420w, DSL

Video editing system
XP 2800+ Barton , ASROCK K7VT4A+, 1.0gb Corsair XMS Cas 2, MSI FX 5900xt 128mb, Samsung 80gb 7200/2, Sony DRU-810a DVDR/RW-DL & MSi DVD 16, Audigy Platinum, Windows XP Pro SP2, Antec 300w, DSL-Lan hookup.
 01/10/2007 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

yep forgot about thortons. LOL. They kinda snuck up after the bartons (Thorton is barton with half L2 cache bad/turned off)
 01/13/2007 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scruffy1
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 08/18/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: ttman
OK my PCB is rev 1.05. is the difference between the XP 2000+ and the Athlon 1.2ghz just speed?



depends somewhat on which 2000+ you are getting (see this) :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L...MD_A...processors#fn_1
List_of_AMD_Athlon_XP_microprocessors

if the cpu is unllocked, you can get it to go faster (free upgrade) but with fsb limited to 133 by your motherboard, you won't get to go much faster using the multiplier alone

i have a thoroughbred 2200+ that does 2gig (default 1.8) at standard volts, 200X10, although default is 133X13.5; faster fsb (essentialy the ram speed) is more efficient, and your motherboard maxes out at 133 on the document pointed to in the early reply - you then need to consider faster ram and probably more of it

if you are new to this, it is easy to spend more time and mone than a simple upgrade to a newer platform, although socket a / 462 is still where i'm at /sleep.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="-_-" border="0" alt="sleep.gif" />

nonetheless, 2000+ is an improvement

a barton would do better (higher fsb usually, larger level 2 cache)

how much money do you want to spend ? where are you sourcing the cpu ? ebay is cheaper than boxed new, and forums like this (or look for overclocking in google) may be a great source of bargains

i recently purchased an asus a7n8x deluxe (the best socket a from asus) with a thoroughbred b (unlocked) 2400+ for $15 (! in australia - there are options like this if you know where to look; if you subscribe you can post a "wanted to by" after a while



-------------------------
athlon xp-m 2500+ IQYHA @ 2.3gig 1.65v / 2*256 corsair twin x bh-5's @ 210fsb 2-2-2-6 / asus a7n8x v2.0 deluxe / thermalright Si97a cooler / antec sonata with 400w smartpower / xfx 6800gs 256 / dell 2405fpw 24" monitor / cd-r/w, dvd / wd 250 sata / wd 80 ide
 01/14/2007 06:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown if the cpu is unllocked, you can get it to go faster (free upgrade)

it is called OCing not a free upgrade..

-------------------------
 01/14/2007 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scruffy1
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 08/18/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: nagaty_h
it is called OCing not a free upgrade..


it's called six, not half a dozen

-------------------------
athlon xp-m 2500+ IQYHA @ 2.3gig 1.65v / 2*256 corsair twin x bh-5's @ 210fsb 2-2-2-6 / asus a7n8x v2.0 deluxe / thermalright Si97a cooler / antec sonata with 400w smartpower / xfx 6800gs 256 / dell 2405fpw 24" monitor / cd-r/w, dvd / wd 250 sata / wd 80 ide
 01/15/2007 05:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown it's called six, not half a dozen

lol.. i was just clearing things up so he doesnt get confused..

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information