AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Yet another athlon CPU question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/10/2007 12:11 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/10/2007 12:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dragonsm
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/09/2007

Apologies in advance if this is a redundant question. I did a search for my motherboard and came up with only a single thread and I am by no means a computer expert.

My current PC which I built a few years or more back has served it's purpose to this point. Back when my friends and I first built my PC (probably back in 2001 or so) I chose the MSI K7T266 Pro 2 motherboard with an XP 1700 CPU and have ran this setup to this day. It was great back then...and still is alright for surfing the net....etc and playing the occassional game (stuff like starcraft, Command and Conquer, and Battlefield 1942...I know this probably dates me)

Anyway, is it worth it and would I notice a difference if I were to exchange out the 1700 for whatever the fastest CPU that works with my motherboard and more ram?

This isn't the ideal solution but I am in the middle of a home remodel project and have a wife who would much rather buy an entire living room set than a screaming PC.

I am looking to probably replace the PC in the next year or 2....just thought if I could pick up a CPU cheap....if it would be worth it.

Also, what was the fastest socket A CPU that was made for a front side bus of 200/266....(or fastest CPU that my motherboard would support)

Thanks in advance
 01/10/2007 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dragonsm
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/09/2007

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/.../mai...D=28&kind=1

I may have answered my own question?!?!?! If this is the case and what I pulled up is actually correct.....It would probably be worth while to just wait?

Thanks
 01/10/2007 12:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redwolf_92
Member

Posts: 45
Joined: 01/03/2007

Here is a link for the specs on your board. As you can see it will only handle an XP 1900+ which isnt much bigger than what you already have. You would actually be better served by saving your money and upgrading the whole system.

http://www.msicomputer.com/pro...pec....o2&class=mb

-------------------------
{Signature removed and pasted into your "Interests". Please read the Forum Rules and Guidelines regarding signatures}
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=boardrules
P4 HT 800mhz FSB, AsRock 75i65G, 512 mb PC400DDR, Intel Extreme Graphics 2 96mb, AMD Duron 1ghz, Biostar M7VKD, 512mb PC133, ATI Radeon 9000 64mb, 40gb hdd, Gateway 800mhz celeron, Dell 1ghz P3
 01/10/2007 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Depending on how much RAM you currently have, increased RAM could help a little bit. But not worth to put much money on it, maybe buy some secondhand RAM to extend.

-------------------------
 01/11/2007 12:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

that little xp1700 and board have been loyal, but there is no path, unless you want to go from 1.47ghz to 1.63ghz, not that its a big jump

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information