AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: XP .18 micron question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/07/2003 06:38 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/07/2003 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redjeep0
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/07/2003

I have a gigabyte G-7ZX MB and their website' ">http://tw.giga-byte.com/Mother...upportList_GA-7ZXE.htm says I need to use the .18 micron chip. I'm having a hard time identifying which part number is the .18 micron. Most websites are apt to advertise that they have the .13, but no one is touting the older .18.
Can anyone tell me why I need the larger cast? or, even better, tell me what part number I need? is it AXDA2100BOX? or where to get it? Per that website, it looks like my safest bet is a 2100 .18. I can't make heads or tails of which column my MB falls into, b/c it's not an E, but it is almost 3 yrs old, so I'm fairly sure it's of the 'less compatible' older variety.

Thanks a lot,

rich

 10/07/2003 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

you wont find and NEW 0.18 processors anymore.

If you want to upgrade, you either need to buy 2nd hand or get a new motherboard.

It seems your motherboard can't tell what the newer processors are, using the name string, or they cant handle the different power requirements.

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/07/2003 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Green Arrow
Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 10/07/2003

.18 Athlon XPs begin with AX, not AXDA. Palominos are kind of hard to find nowadays. You could get an Athlon Thunderbird, though.

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...ist....goryCode=010411' ">http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...irdCategoryCode=010411

Or, Newegg might have a few Pallys left.

Just look for any one that says Palomino or .18

http://www.newegg.com/app/View...asp?...rtby=14&order=1' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...PA=1&sortby=14&order=1
 10/07/2003 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Green Arrow @ Oct 7 2003, 04:15 PM) .18 Athlon XPs begin with AX, not AXDA. Palominos are kind of hard to find nowadays. You could get an Athlon Thunderbird, though.

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...ist....goryCode=010411' ">http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...irdCategoryCode=010411

Or, Newegg might have a few Pallys left.

Just look for any one that says Palomino or .18

http://www.newegg.com/app/View...asp?...rtby=14&order=1' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...PA=1&sortby=14&order=1
good idea about the t-bird!

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/08/2003 10:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redjeep0
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/07/2003

I currently have a 1ghz Thunderbird...I was hoping to upgrade this machine to a faster CPU until I build a new system in a few months.
 10/08/2003 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian
Member

Posts: 98
Joined: 10/06/2003

Palo's start with AX
and their voltage is DMT3C-1.75v

-------------------------
Folding For Team AnandTech Distributed Computing' ">http://forums.anandtech.com/categories.cfm?catid=39

My Humble Forums' ">http://forums.hellstormraiders.com
 10/08/2003 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (redjeep0 @ Oct 8 2003, 06:15 AM) I currently have a 1ghz Thunderbird...I was hoping to upgrade this machine to a faster CPU until I build a new system in a few months.
looks like ur gonna need a new mobo now, or just hold off.

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/08/2003 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Just Brew It!
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/08/2003

NewEgg still has Palomino 1900+ chips in stock.
 10/08/2003 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redjeep0
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/07/2003

Is the Palomino the same as XP? I thought they were different.
 10/08/2003 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Just Brew It!
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/08/2003

All Palominos are XPs, but not all XPs are Palominos.

Palominos, Thoroughbreds, and Bartons are all types of Athlon XP chips. Palomino was the last Athlon core made on 0.18 micron process.
 10/08/2003 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redjeep0
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/07/2003

thanks a lot, then! I'm all over a Palomino 1900+
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information