AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Barton steppings
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/08/2003 07:06 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/12/2003 05:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[borg]
Senior Member

Posts: 528
Joined: 10/07/2003

isn't aquca the oldest corecode? and please answer to this question: are the corecodes produced only for certain amounts of time, and then never again? (new corecodes replace them)

-------------------------
Barton 1833@2200 (11.0x200) AQXEA 0329 XPMW 1.75vcore
NF7-S rev2.0 + 2x512 DDR 400Mhz + SLK-947U + TT SF II
FX5600 256 DDR 350/450
 10/12/2003 06:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE and please answer to this question: are the corecodes produced only for certain amounts of time, and then never again? (new corecodes replace them)

AFAIK, yes...

AIUAA is supposed to be the first and oldest, but i've never seen one of those...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/12/2003 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDA
Senior Member

Posts: 3895
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (MadMarky @ Oct 11 2003, 06:07 PM) oc-ability isn't entirely related to the corecode(i.e. AQXEA), but also the stepping(i.e. MPMW) that determines the oc-ability. I have 2 different 2500+ processers, with AQXEA and AQFZA core, and they are quite equal when it comes to overclocking. Ill list the results:
AQXEA 0332 TPMW
max @ 1.65v: 2150Mhz
max @ 1.75v: 2240Mhz
max @ 1.85v: 2300Mhz

AQFZA 0335 TPMW
max @ 1.65v: 2200Mhz
max @ 1.75v: 2288Mhz
max @ 1.85v: 2340Mhz

It's been said that the XPMW and MPMW steppings are the best overclockable.The TPMW
stepping like mine are moderate overclockers.

Edit:
I'm a member of a Dutch overclocking site, and this is their conclusion on overclockability (list is not complete and results may vary):

Cores:

AQUCA
AQXCA
AQXDA
AQXEA
AQZEA

Steppings:

XPMW
XPAW
TPAW
MPMW
TLPW
TPNW
TPMW
TPCW
WPMW
VPMW
UPAW
UPCW
SPAW

On top are the best overclockers, on the bottom the worst.
Yup, you're completely right-- reason I didn't list those is because I don't know them.

The date is also supposed to factor in quite a bit too... I heard that some of the early JIUHBs were lucky to make it to 2GHz, though of course I can't confirm it.

-------------------------
DEC Pentium X2 5200+ w/ HyperCache (Ezra core)
Asus M7NCD-MAX3 (OPTi Vendetta 82C760)
6x Generic 32MB PC2700 RDRAM (50ns SIMMs)
2x nVidia Millennium X1800 Duo (SLI mode)
12x (daisy-chained) Quantum Medalist 180GXP (w/ separate SCSI-1 adapter)

"Oh, you started a Rube Goldberg machine. A Rube Goldberg machine... called JUSTICE." <a href='http://www.boomspeed.com/old_camper/amdforumsircchat.ht
 10/12/2003 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (SDA @ Oct 12 2003, 09:53 PM)The date is also supposed to factor in quite a bit too... I heard that some of the early JIUHBs were lucky to make it to 2GHz, though of course I can't confirm it.
Hey, you're talking about Thoroughbred cores now
Almost every XP1700+ T-bred B would make it far beyond 2Ghz, JIUHB or not. The same story with Bartons, they almost always go far beyond 2Ghz.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 10/12/2003 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[borg]
Senior Member

Posts: 528
Joined: 10/07/2003

please don't hijack the topic
madmarky thx for posting that info, I've been trying to undestand barton steppings for some time now

-------------------------
Barton 1833@2200 (11.0x200) AQXEA 0329 XPMW 1.75vcore
NF7-S rev2.0 + 2x512 DDR 400Mhz + SLK-947U + TT SF II
FX5600 256 DDR 350/450
 10/13/2003 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

on my 2500 Barton

max @ 1.75v: 2200Mhz stable ( idle + full load )
max @ 1.8v: 2255Mhz stable (idle + full load )
max @ 1.875v: 2365Mhz stable ( idle + full load )

I still need a higher PSU ... to boost up my barton ..

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/14/2003 04:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[borg]
Senior Member

Posts: 528
Joined: 10/07/2003

brian, the stepping please

-------------------------
Barton 1833@2200 (11.0x200) AQXEA 0329 XPMW 1.75vcore
NF7-S rev2.0 + 2x512 DDR 400Mhz + SLK-947U + TT SF II
FX5600 256 DDR 350/450
 10/14/2003 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE ([borg] @ Oct 14 2003, 12:22 AM) brian, the stepping please
cotto matte ( wait a second borg ...



-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/14/2003 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

here is for my Athlon 2400 + :

AIUHB 0325WPMW ---> AXDA2400DKV3C

and here is 4 2500 + :

AQXCA MPM .... something cant remember ... i should open up my rig ...



-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 10/14/2003 02:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[borg]
Senior Member

Posts: 528
Joined: 10/07/2003

let me guess... the last letter is W?
that's about my o/c-ability

-------------------------
Barton 1833@2200 (11.0x200) AQXEA 0329 XPMW 1.75vcore
NF7-S rev2.0 + 2x512 DDR 400Mhz + SLK-947U + TT SF II
FX5600 256 DDR 350/450
 10/15/2003 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ray99mond
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/15/2003

using 1.65vcore..can hit 2.154ghz without any problem ..
haven go futher

-------------------------
Current rig:
AMD 2700+@2.42ghz
kingston KVR 2*512mb hynix BT-D43 2-2-2-11
DFI NFII lan party Ultra B
Gigabyte 9600Pro, 400/600@576/664
Gigabyte W0808A DVD burner
Titan TWC-A04 Water Cooler Kit
Acbel I-POWER 400watt
Cooler Master Stacker
Edifier R501
<img src='http://pcmoddingmy.com//e107_i...st_images/giveaway.jpg
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information