AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Bios Help
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/11/2004 12:00 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/11/2004 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blue screen
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/10/2004

I hope someone can shed some light on this for me. I just put my first computer together and believe there is a problem with my bios settings. Here is what I bought:

AMD Athlon XP 2800+
GeForce FX 5600 8X AGP Video Card with 128 Megs of Ram
KVR400AK2/512 R Memory Upgrade Module 512MB PC3200 CL3184-Pin DIMM Kit
MSI 52x/32x/52x CD-R/RW
Maxtor Diamondmax plus 9 60gb HD
Case with 400watt power supply

My bios settings are as follows:

Advanced Chipset Features:

CPU Frequency is 166 MHz
CPU Frequency Multiple is 12.5x
System Performance [Optimal]
CPU Interface is Optimal
Memory Frequency [Auto]
Resulting Frequency is Auto
Memory Timings is Optimal
SDRAM Active Pregharge Delay 7
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay 3
SDRAM RAS Precharge Delay 3
SDRAM CAS Latency 2.5T
FSB Spread Spectrum [0.50%]
AGP Spread Spectrum [Disabled]
CPU Vcore Setting [Auto]
CPU Vcore 1.650V

My problem is that I my processor speed is 2800+ but when in windows it only shows it running at 2.08 GHz. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 01/11/2004 12:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Well, for your first sytsem, it sounds powerful. But, there is nothing wrong with the processor, if its a Barton CPU, with 512K of L2 cache. The 2800+ Barton is clocked to run at 2.08 GHZ, but to perform comparably to a 2.8 ghz intel. Sometimes when you boot up it doesnt show the model number, instead the processor speed. But if you want an easy overclock, try to set the multiplier to 11x, and push the fsb up to 200. Then you get 3200+ Barton Speeds. But from what it sounds like, your CPU is running fine.

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 01/11/2004 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rukee
Senior Member

Posts: 233
Joined: 12/01/2003

"FSB Spread Spectrum [0.50%]"
^^^ dissable that.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information