AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: XP-TMC
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/04/2004 11:47 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/04/2004 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

I was looking up info on locked chips, and I cam across something called an XP-TMC. Apparently, it allows you to change the multiplier on locked chips. It sounds like an interesting idea, but a couple of things concern me.

1) It raises the chip a little bit, I assume that means you need to modify the heatsink clips to get the heatsink on without chipping the CPU core.

2)It is not a ZIF socket, so I would guess that means it is like the old press-in type sockets.

Has anyone here used this product? I'm thinking of, this summer when I upgrade my computor, to either get a 3200+ or a mobile CPU, so If I go with a mobile, I wouldn't need this thing, but I'd still like to see what the general opinion of it is.

-Adam
 03/04/2004 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

This thing will NOT work with post-week 40 locked-CPUs
Basically, it is for use with unlocked pre-week 40 CPUs on older motherboards or motherboards that do not support multiplier adjustments.
If your CPU is locked, the 'XP-TMC' won't unlock it and if you have an unlocked CPU, you will be able to freely select your multiplier in BIOS on most modern motherboards.

QUOTE Your attention please. To the best of our knowledge & research that some of the latest batches of Athlon XP with new PCB from serial number Axxxxx 0333~Axxxxx 0339 might be "locked" versions although some are NOT. However, serial numbers such as Axxxxx 0340 & later versions are almost the "locked" versions. The multiplier can't be adjusted eithter through the newest motherboards or XP-TMC.


-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 03/04/2004 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

I've heard of it and seen results from it here check this out
Perbi and the XP-TMC' ">http://pub140.ezboard.com/fk7s...sage?topicID=334.topic

To be honest, the pinmod here:http://www.ocinside.de amd pinmod,' ">http://www.ocinside.de/go_e.ht...pinmod/amd_pinmod.html is a lot easier and cheeper to do.

From the XP-TMC FAQ...It cannot be used with locked CPU's.
QUOTE Why can't the multipliers of my AMD Athlon XP be adjusted ? 
  1. Before using XP-TMC for upgrade, you must check whether the multipliers of your Athlon XP is locked or not. If yes, you can't use XP-TMC for adjusting the multipliers.


QUOTE 1) It raises the chip a little bit, I assume that means you need to modify the heatsink clips to get the heatsink on without chipping the CPU core.

See the kit here:install custon bracket and heatsink.' ">http://www.upgradeware.com/eng...duct/xptmc/setup-4.htm

QUOTE 2)It is not a ZIF socket, so I would guess that means it is like the old press-in type sockets.



Put the CPU in the adaptor then place the whole thing into the socket on the mainboard...the multiplier adjusters are on the other side of the adaptor...very time consuming to experiment with different multipliers since you have to remove the heatsink & fan, clean up the TIM each time you want to accurately try to adjust the multiplier.

QUOTE so If I go with a mobile, I wouldn't need this thing, but I'd still like to see what the general opinion of it is.

If you go with a mobile you will not need the adaptor if your mainboard supports manual or software (via the bios) changing of the multuplier...I would go with the mobile, it's potential far exceeds anything with an adaptor.

Just my $0.02

Later

MD

Greyhound types faster than me...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information