AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: XP-M 2500 MPMW first impression.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/26/2004 05:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/26/2004 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

I've got this new chip with MPMW stepping which is statistically the best stepping for high overclock results.

The thing is - you can reach those with a good psu and a cooling system, which I don't have.(yet)

With an aluminium Duron heatsink I've reached 210x11.5=2.42Ghz with official 1.8V vcore, showing ~1.775 by monitoring programs.

I stopped there, because the temps are reaching 58-59C on load, until I get a decent cooling system.

But I've got a feling this beast is still sleeping.

Gil.

-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
 04/26/2004 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

Mine will do 2400 on stock vcore. 200 X 12, idle 28 deg C, prime 95 35 deg C.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 04/26/2004 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

you mean 2400@1.45V?
What cooling system are you using?

[Edit] I have exact same stepping you have.
But a bad psu and no proper cooling yet.
I Will get up there.

P.S.Anything limits you to 200Mhz FSB?

-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
 04/26/2004 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...pic=...xp-m+2500\' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...812&hl=xp-m+2500\
The full story of this chip inc stepping is in this post.
The stepping # are the ones on the otherside of the date by the way.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 04/26/2004 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

Yes, I found the stepping and the colling info, sorry to bother you.
The temps look pretty impressive, is this Swiftech so good, I thought TR SLK947U with a Tornado would be better.

It's 100% my psu.Although it has voltage stabilizer, the Vcore differs from 1.75 to 1.76-1.71.

-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
 04/26/2004 09:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

It probably is I run a extra 80x25mm delta (moves more air than a good vaccum cleaner and makes most of the noise) on the Swiftech. But it's near the top of the heap for air cooling and better than a lot of the cheap watercoolers.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 04/27/2004 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

I did the L12 "mod", and am able to boot my value Samsung CL3-3-3-7 at 243Mhz 3-4-4-13(11). (comparing to 205 max before).
So it goes 10x243=2430 meanwhile.

The high fsb means big jumps.
Next step: it boots 243x10.5=~2555 but won't load OS.
After the HSF arrives, I think it'll be fine at 1.875-1.9V.

I'll probably stop there, it's more than an average achievement for this chip.

I'll be glad to hear any coments.

Gil.

-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
 04/28/2004 12:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jakepp
Senior Member

Posts: 341
Joined: 04/13/2004

I don't understand what's the whole fuzz about overclocking how faster can it go? a millisecond

Can someone please explain to me. It runs well how it is....yeah I would like more speed but for what. I am not going to open 100 .jpg at one time or do something like that. I do play Halo but I've tried it in several PCs and don't see much diff. 1GHz more or less.

-------------------------
MSI K8N Neo4/SLI Platinum / Athlon 64 FX55 San Diego / X850XT PE / 1GB OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 / 1GB Kingston DDR400 PC3200 / Raptor 74G 10,000RPM x 2
NEC LCD1970GX /


"Be Bop or Be Dead"
 04/28/2004 01:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bugeyes
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Jakepp @ Apr 27 2004, 08:29 PM) I don't understand what's the whole fuzz about overclocking   how faster can it go? a millisecond 

Can someone please explain to me. It runs well how it is....yeah I would like more speed but for what. I am not going to open 100 .jpg at one time or do something like that. I do play Halo but I've tried it in several PCs and don't see much diff. 1GHz more or less.
It's purely a matter of E-Penius size...
Overclocking rigs are generaly used for running benchmarks and not for real-world applicatrions!

Every one knows the higher your 3Dmark, the more Hotties you can pull

EDIT: You may want to start a new thred for that subject
 04/28/2004 07:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

Bugeyes the good news is no one forces you to participate. With some guys its a hobby, with others its a obsession! I can overclock and still use language that ok for children to hear!

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 04/28/2004 09:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jakepp
Senior Member

Posts: 341
Joined: 04/13/2004

Don't get me wrong, I would like to know everything about it. Since I'm new to AMD I want to know if its worth it. And for what I hear it sounds like it does. I will Start a new topic about to see if I can get more info. Thank you for the response.



-------------------------
MSI K8N Neo4/SLI Platinum / Athlon 64 FX55 San Diego / X850XT PE / 1GB OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 / 1GB Kingston DDR400 PC3200 / Raptor 74G 10,000RPM x 2
NEC LCD1970GX /


"Be Bop or Be Dead"
 04/28/2004 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

http://www.hyperformance-pc.com/overclocking_faq.htm' ">http://www.hyperformance-pc.com/overclocking_faq.htm
There is a place for you to start Jakepp.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 04/28/2004 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bugeyes
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Aubrey @ Apr 28 2004, 03:51 AM) Bugeyes the good news is no one forces you to participate. With some guys its a hobby, with others its a obsession! I can overclock and still use language that ok for children to hear!
and your point is?
 04/28/2004 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jakepp
Senior Member

Posts: 341
Joined: 04/13/2004

Thanks Aubrey!
Thanks Bugeyes!

-------------------------
MSI K8N Neo4/SLI Platinum / Athlon 64 FX55 San Diego / X850XT PE / 1GB OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 / 1GB Kingston DDR400 PC3200 / Raptor 74G 10,000RPM x 2
NEC LCD1970GX /


"Be Bop or Be Dead"
 04/28/2004 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDA
Senior Member

Posts: 3895
Joined: 10/06/2003

I think people get the wrong impression from overclockers based on the people who just overclock everything 5-10% to see their scores. My stuff is overclocked a ways farther than that (video card core 40% farther, video card memory a measly ~12% faster just to make sure the core gets a little extra bandwidth, CPU 33% farther, et cetera) and trust me, I notice the difference in games. They run a lot smoother, and the minimum framerate especially seems to be quite a bit higher than before. Also, when I'm doing CPU-intensive stuff like decompressing or media encoding, it goes quite a bit faster. (Actually, you'd even notice 10% there, but.)

-------------------------
DEC Pentium X2 5200+ w/ HyperCache (Ezra core)
Asus M7NCD-MAX3 (OPTi Vendetta 82C760)
6x Generic 32MB PC2700 RDRAM (50ns SIMMs)
2x nVidia Millennium X1800 Duo (SLI mode)
12x (daisy-chained) Quantum Medalist 180GXP (w/ separate SCSI-1 adapter)

"Oh, you started a Rube Goldberg machine. A Rube Goldberg machine... called JUSTICE." <a href='http://www.boomspeed.com/old_camper/amdforumsircchat.ht
 04/28/2004 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

At this time I'n only doing some moderate overclocking. My 2500+ is at 2800+ speeds right now. Until I do some modifications to my motherboard, then I'll really be moving out.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 04/29/2004 01:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDA
Senior Member

Posts: 3895
Joined: 10/06/2003

Wait, so.. you have a watercooler and your 2500+ is at 2800+ speeds.

Is there something I'm missing here? Surely even with a stock A7N8X you could push the 2500+ above 3200+ speeds.

-------------------------
DEC Pentium X2 5200+ w/ HyperCache (Ezra core)
Asus M7NCD-MAX3 (OPTi Vendetta 82C760)
6x Generic 32MB PC2700 RDRAM (50ns SIMMs)
2x nVidia Millennium X1800 Duo (SLI mode)
12x (daisy-chained) Quantum Medalist 180GXP (w/ separate SCSI-1 adapter)

"Oh, you started a Rube Goldberg machine. A Rube Goldberg machine... called JUSTICE." <a href='http://www.boomspeed.com/old_camper/amdforumsircchat.ht
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information