Increase font size
Topic Title: Wrong heatsink?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/06/2004 10:05 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/06/2004 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KT Kore

I'm a total newbie at building PC's. I thought I'd give it a try. I'm so afraid...lol.

Anyway. I'm trying to build an AMD Athlon Barton 3200+ system on a socket A (socket 462) ASUS A7N8X-E deluxe motherboard. The processor came with its own heatsink/fan (I'm on a tight budget -- no plans to overclock) said to be designed for socket A. The heatsinks shown in the documentation that came with it show images of a heatsink with a step on the edge to prevent it from touching the socket. But the actual heatsink has no step, but it's not exactly flat, either. Rather, it has a metal plate screwed in the middle with thermal compound (did not come with film to peel off, but rather a cover to take off [yeah I know, better cooling will be the result of not using said compound]). Also, in the documentation, the retention clips in the images for the heatsink only have one hook to fit in the middle socket lug, but the actual heatsink has three hooks which look as though they're supposed to go on all three socket lugs.

I am placing the the clips in the right spot, but I can only seem to get one side hooked in (I don't think I've screwed up the thermal compound so I think I can keep trying), the other side seems too high for the socket lugs. Do you think the wrong heatsink may have been packaged or I ordered the wrong one (seems doubtful) or am I doing something wrong in the installation?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!
 04/06/2004 10:26 PM

Author Icon
desteven

Hard to say without some pics, but everytime i've ordered a cpu/mobo combo, they send me the reccomended stock HSF.