AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Win2k Hanging at Random After CPU Upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/13/2004 11:30 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/13/2004 11:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mjt77
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/13/2004

Hi, everybody --

I'm hoping someone can help me with a very stubborn problem: I'm running a machine that was built as a Duron 950, with an ECS K7SEM motherboard. The BIOS string at the bottom of the boot screen, for reference, is 02/07/03-SiS-730-6A6ISE19C-00. I've never had any problems with Win2k hanging (or any other problems, for that matter) with this machine.

Then, the other day, I replaced the Duron 950 CPU with a new Athlon XP 2400+. Now, Win2k (even after a HD reformat and clean re-install) hangs, seemingly at random. I've already tried switching out motherboards, and the problem remains. All tests that I've run on the system have come up clean. Is this a faulty CPU?



Thanks in advance,

Mike
 04/14/2004 12:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slaitech
Senior Member

Posts: 516
Joined: 11/20/2003

What memory are you using? you have to consider the 2400+ runs at a significantly higher FSB then a Duron 950.

Random lockups are most always cuases by faulty and or overtaxed memory.

And seeing as your mainboard only supports PC100/133 you wont be getting anywhere near your processor's full abilities.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Clawhammer
Gigabyte K8V800MAE K8T800 Mainboard
2x 512 MB Kingston Hyper X DDR400
PNY Verto GeForce 6800 GT 256 MB
 04/14/2004 12:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mjt77
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/13/2004

Thanks for your response -- Yes, I'm aware of the difference in FSB speed between the Duron and the Athlon XP, and the fact that being limited by the mobo's PC-133 memory will somewhat hogtie the CPU's abilities (I was attempting to increase the muscle of this machine under severe financial restraints, so I chose to upgrade the CPU but not the mobo), but could that difference in speed (between the FSB of the CPU and the speed of the memory) actually be causing the lockups??

- Mike
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information