AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 2800+ Not clocked right
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/01/2004 07:27 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/01/2004 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SnakeKusanagi
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/01/2004

I'm running a Syntax K7SV400 Motherboard which supports this AMD 2800+

I installed a Volcano 11+
I have a PC 2100 DDR 512mb
Sapphire 256mb 9600 Pro
520W PSU
Win XP

2 intake fans in the front, and 1 120mm exhaust fan in the back. System temp stays around 23-26 degrees C. Processor stays around 30-40 C when its being worked.

Now check this I discovered that this isn't running right last night. 1250mhz? Understandable okay? Well sad thing is when I attempt to clock it right, I have to use the jumpers to clear the settings and I can only set the CPU Clock to 132 instead of getting it to 166 to 167 with the 12.5 mulitplier.

I've moved the CPU Frequency Select Jumper to 166mhz but it acts like it goes way to high for it. Its currently set to 100 mhz and I have 2 other Options, Not Applicable and 133mhz.

Plus even at this speed its totally unstable. At times I get white dots that appear in random places on the screen or around the mouse. Sometimes during music tracks I get the same wave played 10x or more and it resumes. Like you hear some guy say "Who likes to Rock" you play it again he sounds like a retard "Who li i i i i i i i i i i i, likes to rock!" If thats not bad enough

Whats causing my instablity? Why am I not able to crank this puppy up and run it like a thoroughbreed?
 03/01/2004 08:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

You memory is only rated for 266mhz fsb, You must buy PC-2700 or PC-3200 in order to run 333mhz fsb.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 03/01/2004 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SnakeKusanagi
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/01/2004

But even so it should atleast run like its suppose to. Right? I'm not attempting to overclock the processor more like... normal clock it :-P because this is sooooooooo underclocked but for some reason i can't get it to clock right.
 03/01/2004 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
archonfury
Member

Posts: 147
Joined: 12/30/2003

it will never run right. Go buy atleast 2700 now. Otherwise your rig is useless.

-------------------------
A7V600 KT600
AMD 2500+ Barton OC to 3200+
Western Digital 80gig 7200 HD (8mb)
512MB GEIL DDR 400
ATI Radeon 9600XT
(535mHz / 642mHz)
Antec True Power 350W LED(+2LED case fans)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information