AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Upgradeable?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/27/2009 12:58 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/29/2009 08:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

You'll probably need to budget for memory and power supply as well, not forgetting a graphics card if you need one for gaming etc.

Virtually nothing on your current system, apart from one or two PCI cards and drives can be transferred to a new platform. A new faster hard drive wouldn't be a bad idea either.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 09/29/2009 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

so a new complete system, it doesn't sound bad & I would be willing to get one but I am still confused about processors, which ones to go for. Could you offer any advice for processors I should be out looking for within an already built PC, I'm in England if that makes any difference.
 09/29/2009 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Probably best to start a new thread in System Specs/Recommendations if you want advice on new gear.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 10/01/2009 06:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

ok. thanks again bogey & go_for, much appreciated.

Just to let you know I got a reply from AMD,

Most of the BIOS settings should be left to "Auto", however you do need to adjust the Front Side Bus to 166 MHz (or 333 MHz depending on how the motherboard lists it). This way the system can calculate the correct processor frequency to run at.

In terms of BIOS settings, you would want to contact your motherboard manufacture for all the different settings. However, to be safe they should be left at the default values unless you know 100% what they do.

If there are any other questions, please let me know.


In order to update this service request, please respond, leaving the service request reference intact.

Best regards,

Michael

AMD Global Customer Care
 10/06/2009 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

I'm curious, are these ok?

 10/06/2009 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

It's worth using a stress programme like OCCT and monitor temps and voltages under load http://www.ocbase.com/perestro...en/index.php?Download

Make sure the hardware monitor is reading the correct temp/voltage. For example the +12V rail is obviously not right as it stands.

Cpu temp is a bit high. Check how far it goes under load. OCCT will stop the stress test if the cpu temp goes too high.

Please give details of the power supply.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 10/07/2009 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

my psu sticker reads,
FSP Group Inc.
ATX-250GT
AC Input: 230Volts
Max Output Power: 250Watt

A sticker on the back of my system case reads,
230Volts AC
50Hz
1.0 AMP

I downloaded OCCT and done a 1hour (AUTO) CPU : OCCT, Test Mode: Medium Data Set & Priotiy: NORMAL. I did not change the +12V rail as I didn't know how or what to change it to. The 4 pictures below are the ones it produced after the 1hour test...







 10/09/2009 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

could someone please give this a once over
 10/09/2009 12:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Vcore, ripple of 12% is not too good, but not a major concern, if it is, computer should be freezing or crashing. Does it?

+3.3V readout is lowish, albeit fairly even.

+5V is perhaps accurate.

+12V is showing a wrong readout, that is depending on how well OCCT supports the board in question.

There should be a temp readout curve as well, did not see one in your post.

I think your PSU is undersized for the system. Perhaps it also has some years on its neck.

-------------------------
 10/09/2009 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I think your PSU is undersized for the system. Perhaps it also has some years on its neck.


Yeah I was thinking the same thing. But hey it's stable in OCCT.


Not really sure what to say about the voltage readings. You can expect spikes in the graph. Generally it doesn't look too bad apart from maybe the+12V rail. If the system starts going unstable, which doesn't seem to be the case at the moment, suspect failing psu or bad motherboard capacitors. If you want to invest in a new psu why not, but make sure it's of good quality, single +12V rail and capable of running a modern pc.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 10/10/2009 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

When I opened OCCT, the only tabs I could click on is the normal OCCT test and the advanced one (below top tab), the other tabs were disabled, it come up with me having to upgrade directx and my graphic card. Readout of temp, that picture didn't appear in the folder OCCT created after the test.

The systems stable, it hasn't crashed which is good considering its made for XP but running Vista Ultimate.

Will I have to change settings in BIOs? & the PSU has aged, its not been changed since I brought the system which was about 5years ago
 10/10/2009 11:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I presume the motherboard is the same age as the psu, in which case you need to examine the motherboard capacitors for signs of deterioration http://www.badcaps.net/forum/index.php before spending any more money on it.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 10/11/2009 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

the caps are fine mate, there no leaks or bubbled caps. I clean my fans every other month and check the board at the same time, I haven't noticed anything of the sort yet.
 12/09/2009 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rodrick
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/09/2009

You already have the fastaest processor for that motherboard.
 04/10/2010 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

sorry to drag this back up but i cleaned my system, taking out the motherboard and so on but when i switched back on it wouldn't stay on so i took out the battery and the settings were obviously gone. i then tried to get everything back to normal but im unable to change my fsb, it boots up for a second or two then switches off, i then have to put it back to 100 for the system to run.
 04/10/2010 03:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Check cpu temperature. Reseat processor heatsink/fan if you think it's a bit high at 100, because it will certainly be higher at 166. Check all connections. Reseat memory.

Are you still using three memory modules?

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 04/14/2010 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

i took it apart, put it back together, then done the same thing when this started happening still no joy. when i boot, the first screen states 1333 and not xp3000+ as it should. im running windows 7 and not xp on the system. it was running fine, no problems until i took it apart for a good clean.
 04/17/2010 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

can anyone please help me with this. im unable to change my fsb to its correct setting without the system going crazy, not starting, shutting down etc.



Edited: 04/17/2010 at 07:50 PM by Thierry
 04/18/2010 01:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

That board was not immune to the bad caps plague which affected quite a few motherboards produced around that period.

Even if they look ok, there may be one or two that have dried up..

It's worth trying another power supply if you can get your hands on one. The cpu cooling may be insufficient. Try one memory module. I'm starting to repeat myself.

At least try the Crucial stick on its own and check cpu temperature in the bios after changing the fsb. Let it for a while until the temperature stabilises.

The fsp 250w must be considered "borderline" for the system. But if it checks out ok then we're left with the motherboard.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w

Edited: 04/18/2010 at 02:53 AM by bogey
 04/18/2010 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thierry
Newbie

Posts: 27
Joined: 09/27/2009

i tried the memory again bogey, no joy.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information