AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: am new
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/01/2004 01:27 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/01/2004 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
russ
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/31/2004

am new to building systems and can some one tell me why my 3000+ only runs at 2162 mhz

am running a gigabyte nforce 2 ga-7n400
80 g maxtor
msi geforcefx5600 xt
barton 3000+
 02/01/2004 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
russ
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/31/2004

will be a great help thanks
 02/01/2004 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lilmanmgf
Senior Member

Posts: 229
Joined: 01/01/2004

That is the speed it is supposed to run at. The 3000+ means it runs at the same speed as a 3ghz processor would without having to run at 3ghz.

-------------------------

 02/01/2004 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

That's the speed it's supposed to run at. 3000+ is the performance rating not the actual clock speed.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/01/2004 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
russ
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/31/2004

thanks you guys just fitted it anon then had to buy new fan as we hit 100c very fast
 02/01/2004 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

QUOTE we hit 100c very fast

I hope your machine shut itself down....100C is over the rated top temperature for that cpu

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 02/01/2004 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
archonfury
Member

Posts: 147
Joined: 12/30/2003

If amd hasn't already, maybe they should actually put on their processor box that 2500+,3000+ etc, is just a performance rating.

Many of my friends who have amd, were stunned when they actually realized their 2800+ was not a 2.8 ghz.

-------------------------
A7V600 KT600
AMD 2500+ Barton OC to 3200+
Western Digital 80gig 7200 HD (8mb)
512MB GEIL DDR 400
ATI Radeon 9600XT
(535mHz / 642mHz)
Antec True Power 350W LED(+2LED case fans)
 02/01/2004 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

It might be a good idea to make it a bit more obvious to the average buyer. Intel has been winning the Mhz war even though they would get absolutly blown away at the same Mhz as any newer AMD. I wonder if there's a site that could underclock a P4C (king of the Northwoods right now) to say 1467Mhz (1700+ speeds) and see what happens. Better yet clock one to 1.8Ghz and see who wins, 1.8Ghz Barton or 1.8Ghz P4C.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information