AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: KT266A
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/24/2004 09:31 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/24/2004 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
david1a
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/23/2004

I have a Athlon XP 1700+ cpu with 256mb of RAM & a GIGABYTE Motherboard
with a VIA KT266A Northbridge.
I'm thinking of upgrading to either a 2400+ or a 2600+.
I know that the KT266A chipset should technically be able to handle the newer thouroughbreds but I wonder if in reality if that is the case.
Or perhpas should I invest in some more RAM instead? I'M currently running Windows 2000 but I do want to upgrade to XP fairly soon, so I'M wondering if I should either buy more RAM or get a new CPU.
 04/24/2004 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

In the short term you will see more performance from more ram. I would hang on to Win 2000 its some faster than XP actually there is little difference.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information