AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: problems booting amd 2500 & msi k7n2 delta
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/17/2004 12:42 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/17/2004 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
will.law
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/17/2004

i just bought an msi k7n2 delta-l motherboard and amd 2500 barton processor along with 256 mb of ram. i installed linux (fedora 1, kernel: 2.4.22-1) on a brand new 120gig seagate asa drive without any problems.

most of the time the system runs perfectly but some of the time i can't boot at all. everything is spinning but there is no beep and the boot diagnostic tool that came with the board tells me i have cpu problems. i' ve tried reseating the processor and cleaned the old heatsink paste off and applied my own in case i was having overheating problems. it is still happening though.

usually if i leave the computer for a mintue or two and unplug the power it boots up fine again.

any help would be appreciated as i'm beginning to pull my hair out!
 05/17/2004 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

PSU maybe then?

-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
 05/17/2004 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Can you post some specs fopr your system, power supply capacity (Read them from the sticker on the side of the PSU) age of componets etc...

Try firing up your machine without any drives attached, you may have a weak PSU...spinning up drives needs lots of "Juice"

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 05/17/2004 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
will.law
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/17/2004

ok the psu is from the old system (not quite sure how old but it had a k6 processor in it before so probably a good few years) so thankyou for the suggestion it looks like that might be the case. i currenty have 2 HDs so i'll try it without one of them for a while cus i don't need it anyway.

the motherboard, cpu, ram and one HD are all brand new. the cdrom, psu and other HD are all probably 3 or 4 years old.

i'm not quite sure how to read the specs for the PSU but i think it's rated at 145watts. searching around the net, that seems low. looks like it's time to try and new one.

thanks!
 05/17/2004 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

145 watts? Is it a Micro ATX case? If not then get something of at least 350 to 400 watts. If it is micro atx, then there are some good 300 watt psu's out there.

-Adam
 05/17/2004 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

If it says "145 Watt MAX" then it's ok.
But if it's just "145W" big in the middle, then you've got a weak PSU.
I personally never heard on "145W" psus.

Try to unplug, wait a little then plug the wires (chamber connecting to your motherboard).

*Note* that you may have a separate place to plug 12V line on your motherboard, (4 wires) and old PSU don't have them.

Anyway it's a PSU problem, I would suggest a known brand 350W.

-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
 05/17/2004 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
will.law
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/17/2004

ok, yeah i read the sticker wrong cus i guess a lot of it was covered by the cpu fan. yes it is a 300W psu afterall. sorry about that.

i'll try removing one of the hard drives and unpugging and replugging the psu to mobo connection.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information