AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon II X4 640 Overheating
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/06/2010 08:10 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/09/2010 09:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bulit
Lurker

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/06/2010

PC SETUP:

CPU: Athlon II x4 640
Motherboard: GA-MA78LM-S2H rev 1.3
PSU: Cooler master 550w
DDR2: Ocz reaper 1066 2x2 GB


Edited: 09/10/2010 at 10:03 PM by Bulit
 09/10/2010 02:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Thanks, I'll have to take a look in linux or something... I dunno, I can see the pictures on my BlackBerry (too small to make out much of anything though), but it seems to be stalling downloading the images in windows. So... I'll have to take a look in another browser or something so I can see the large pictures. I will get back to you though, and thanks for your patience!

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 09/10/2010 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

OK, so I'm looking at your temperatures. What is the room temperature at your place? Your hard drive is pretty darn warm. What kind of video card do you have? I'm looking at my temperatures and getting 25C on my Samsung drives and 30C on my Western Digital drive. There's something hot in your system or nearby to be producing higher than normal temperature readings on a variety of sensors. Other than that, everything appears to be good in regards to your voltages.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 09/10/2010 09:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bulit
Lurker

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/06/2010

Originally posted by: PorscheRacer14

OK, so I'm looking at your temperatures. What is the room temperature at your place? Your hard drive is pretty darn warm. What kind of video card do you have? I'm looking at my temperatures and getting 25C on my Samsung drives and 30C on my Western Digital drive. There's something hot in your system or nearby to be producing higher than normal temperature readings on a variety of sensors. Other than that, everything appears to be good in regards to your voltages.


Room temp: 24 Celsius; 75 Fahrenheit
Video card: 760g display adapter(integrated)

Yeah, come to think of it, it might be the hard drive. I got it from an old hp computer, but it's pretty far from the heat sensor. So that shouldn't be the problem right?

hard drive specifications
 09/10/2010 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

It looks like it is either sealed in a small desk compartment or sitting next to a baseboard heater (or on a heating vent!!) All the temps are way over the top!

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 09/10/2010 11:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bulit
Lurker

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/06/2010

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer

It looks like it is either sealed in a small desk compartment or sitting next to a baseboard heater (or on a heating vent!!) All the temps are way over the top!



QB


Nope, No baseboard heaters are nearby.
And its not in a desktop compartment either.
 09/11/2010 01:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marioland
Driod

Posts: 154
Joined: 04/19/2010

This is starting to resemble a game of twenty questions. 8)

Don't get discouraged, we've all been there at one time of another.

QB gets the award for thinking outside the box. 8)

Just fyi I'm going to post a couple of links,
this is so you can see someone clean a CPU ans heat sink. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...kXrkM&feature=related
this one is so you can see what happens when TIM is applied. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyXLu1Ms-q4

I know it seems unnecessary to go over this, but sometimes the smallest details make all the difference. Just so you know how much is enough, a couple dry runs are recommended.
And air bubbles are an absolute no-no. More information about TIM http://www.bit-tech.net/hardwa.../02/16/all-about-tim/1

-------------------------
Corsair AX 1200w-|-ASUS Crosshair IV-|-AMD 1090T/Thermax Spire Eclipse II
G.SKILL Flare 4GB DDR3 1840 CL6-|-WD Black 500G X2 RAID 0
WD Black 1T SATA 6GB/s-|-2x HD6870 Cross Fire-|-case MM Ascension
Samsung P2350-1 23"-|-Logitech G15 keyboard-|-Logitech G9x mouse/SteelSeries Experience I-2
 09/11/2010 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

This is more than just a CPU temp issue... all the temps are way high. Nothing in your computer should have an idle temp in the 40's (maybe the video card if you had one, but even then... ) , especially if the room temp is 24.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 09/11/2010 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

I was thinking it might be sensors reporting wrong, but the hard drive being so warm, throws that idea out the door. He's not using one of those insane graphics card that puts off lots of heat, and his case appears to be well ventilated. I can't see why things besides his CPU are running that warm.

For all intents and purposes, his setup is very identical to my parents computer. Except it's in an Antec Sonata (which has much less ventilation) and only one rear exhaust fan. They also have a 3870 tossed in there, but using a stock AMD heatsink. Temperatures in their case are still much lower, even with that 3870 squeezed in there.

So... considering it is an old hard drive, which could normally run warmer, that means it's just back to the CPU now. Now the question is, why is it running so warm? It's a 95 watt CPU, nothing too extreme, on stock settings and the stock cooler.

Let's start from the beginning. The CPU is correctly installed and seated? What products are you using to remove the thermal paste with? When you mount the heatsink (which should be clean of dust and debris beforehand), is the heatsink's contact base completely clean? Are you mounting the heatsink on a flat surface? What I mean by that, the case is on it's side, the heatsinking is orientated properly and the heatsink fit's down squarely and snug onto the socket. Are you only using a rice-sized dab of thermal paste? What kind of thermal paste are you using?

This isn't to be taken the wrong way, I just figured maybe starting back from the begining and seeing what process you did, maybe we can figure that "aahhh hah!" moment. Is the heatspreader on the CPU perfectly flat and the contact base on the heatsink perfectly flat? You can check with a razor edge. It doesn't have to be perfectly machined (that's what the thermal paste is for), but if you check the flatness by placing a razor edge on angles and across the surface, it should be flat without hills or valleys.

If we're good to go on the hardware, then it must be something in the installation process that isn't quite working for us.

Oh, and you don't have to tear down your rig for this, just think back to the install and try to give use your best answers in detail. Hopefully one of us on the ball and can spot something or even suggest something else to get you working correctly.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 09/11/2010 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bulit
Lurker

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/06/2010

The cpu is correctly installed. To remove the thermal paste I used rubbing alcohol. I did lay the case on its side before installing anything. I tried thermal pads and the temperatures were still the same, so I couldn't have put too much/little thermal paste.

Thermal Compound: http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16835100007
 09/11/2010 06:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

You did not say how much of the TIM you applied. That is crucial. Grain of rice (DO not spread it) is all you need. What happened to your screen shot of your temps? Maybe try one more fan on the side of the case?

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 09/12/2010 01:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bulit
Lurker

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/06/2010

Yeah, I put about a grain of rice and didn't spread it. I don't think another fan would help. But what's strange is that the temps get way hotter in the bios. The cpu gets to around 52 degrees Celsius and the motherboard gets up to 58 degrees.

Oh, and here's the screenshot:


Edited: 09/12/2010 at 01:32 AM by Bulit
 09/12/2010 10:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adudley1
B1FF

Posts: 109
Joined: 04/11/2007

i had a similar problems with a stock cooler (OEM junk) on my Athlon 2 x4 620. it would go as high as 60C under load. so i replaced it with artic freezer 64. and my load temps have dropped to 42c max. also case temp has dropped as it blowing the hot air directly in to the exhaust fan.

hope that helps

.Aaron

-------------------------
Experience is a wonderful thing, it enables you recognise a mistake when you make it again
 12/06/2010 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WWJoeyD
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/06/2010

My 640X4 roughly has the same high temps as OP

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...?Item=N82E16835233014

I installed a XIGMATEK cooler,
100% load for 2 hours: 50C Max
Idle for 1 hour: 26C

I'm also clocked at 3.2ghz


OP just get a aftermarket cooler, beside the max temp according to AMD should be <71C



I made this account just to post this since this is google's top search result

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.2GHz
ASRock 870 EXTREME3 AM3 AMD
Western Digital VelociRaptor WD1500HLFS 150GB
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3
SAPPHIRE Vapor-X Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5
hec Zephyr MX-750 750W
XIGMATEK HDT-SD964 92mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information