AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: PLEASE HELP ME!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/01/2004 11:47 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/01/2004 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reepsmac
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/01/2004

I put together my new computer late last night (soyo kt600 with 2800+, 512 mb ram, nvidia 5600 ultra etc.) now when I try to plug my monitor into the vga port the no signal display disapears and the green power button turns amber. The monitor does work because i have tested it on my other computer and the video card also works, im guessing, because i tried a working video card in the apg slot and the same thing happens. Does anyone have any clue?
 07/01/2004 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OliverMaltby
Senior Member

Posts: 1095
Joined: 06/01/2004

You have to wipe the cmos, you can do this by changing the jumper settings on your motherboard from 1-2 to 2-3, or by removing the battery for ten seconds.
This should make the computer boot up, then asking you to configure the bios.

(I assume you also hear beeping during the monitor being blank?)

-------------------------
ASRock 939Dual-Sata2 Athlon ULi m1695 | AMD 64 3200+ S939 | 2 x OCZ Premier 512MB DDR400 CL 2.5-3-3-7 | Tagan TG430-U15 430W PSU (40A on combined 12V) | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 160Gb 8Mb Cache | Point Of View nVidia GeForce 6800GS | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | Logitech 5.1 X-530 Sound System | Hauppauge PVR250 | Liteon DVDR+-
 07/01/2004 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
desteven
Senior Member

Posts: 605
Joined: 01/27/2004

Is this what happens when you turn your computer on? you get no picture? no display of anything, no boot up? can you get into the bios?

It may not be a video problem at all, but settings in your bios or on your mobo could be wrong.

oops, just saw oliver's post.

What he said, wipe your cmos.
 07/01/2004 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reepsmac
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/01/2004

I hear two beeps, one when I press the power button and one about 5 seconds later. I have already tried to reset the cmos.
 07/01/2004 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
desteven
Senior Member

Posts: 605
Joined: 01/27/2004

Be sure you are clearing the cmos properly, you must turn off the power supply while you do it, or just remove the plug from the power supply.

Should also double check your memory sticks, make sure they are seated properly. Make sure nothing is grounding out on your mobo like a screw that might of fallen in.

What type of heatsink fan do you have? That motherboard (i have the same) has an anti burn regulator which keeps the computer from booting up if the heatsink fan is not attatched to the CPUFAN1 connector. Make sure your fan is plugged in that connector.

Also, if the heatsink fan does not spin at least 3000rpm (i think its 3000) it will also not boot up. If you have the stock heatsink fan then the rpm should not be a problem.
 07/01/2004 12:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reepsmac
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/01/2004

if it is my onboard settings what should my dipswitch and fsb settings be?
 07/01/2004 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
desteven
Senior Member

Posts: 605
Joined: 01/27/2004

FSB of 166MHz and multiplier of 12.5

 07/01/2004 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OliverMaltby
Senior Member

Posts: 1095
Joined: 06/01/2004

Your FSB should be 166, I don't know what a dipswitch is so I can't help you there.

Desteven beat me to it, what he said.

-------------------------
ASRock 939Dual-Sata2 Athlon ULi m1695 | AMD 64 3200+ S939 | 2 x OCZ Premier 512MB DDR400 CL 2.5-3-3-7 | Tagan TG430-U15 430W PSU (40A on combined 12V) | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 160Gb 8Mb Cache | Point Of View nVidia GeForce 6800GS | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | Logitech 5.1 X-530 Sound System | Hauppauge PVR250 | Liteon DVDR+-
 07/01/2004 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reepsmac
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/01/2004

i bought an after market heatsink and fan b/c my cpu and board didnt come with one and it seems to be spinning fast enough ( i really have know way of telling. The antiburn jumper is on and i have tried the my memory in every slot several times.
 07/01/2004 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reepsmac
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/01/2004

also my settings seem to be the same with the 166 and the 12.5
 07/01/2004 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OliverMaltby
Senior Member

Posts: 1095
Joined: 06/01/2004

Have you applied the thermal paste correctly?
If you haven't then the processor could be overheating and causing the system to fail to boot.

-------------------------
ASRock 939Dual-Sata2 Athlon ULi m1695 | AMD 64 3200+ S939 | 2 x OCZ Premier 512MB DDR400 CL 2.5-3-3-7 | Tagan TG430-U15 430W PSU (40A on combined 12V) | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 160Gb 8Mb Cache | Point Of View nVidia GeForce 6800GS | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | Logitech 5.1 X-530 Sound System | Hauppauge PVR250 | Liteon DVDR+-
 07/01/2004 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reepsmac
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/01/2004

thermal paste came on the heat sink, already applied. and it is installed properly.
 07/01/2004 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
desteven
Senior Member

Posts: 605
Joined: 01/27/2004

Well, I'm running out of ideas already

Wait for Parsifal to reply later on, he always has answers. Reading his replies is almost better than goin to school to learn about this stuff
 07/01/2004 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OliverMaltby
Senior Member

Posts: 1095
Joined: 06/01/2004

Unplug everything except the processor and put it all back together, maybe that would help.

Once my brother got a new graphics card, and had a similar problem to you - the system wouldn't boot properly. I thought it was a problem with the bios but it turned out that the graphics card wasn't plugged in correctly into the AGP socket, perhaps that is your problem?

-------------------------
ASRock 939Dual-Sata2 Athlon ULi m1695 | AMD 64 3200+ S939 | 2 x OCZ Premier 512MB DDR400 CL 2.5-3-3-7 | Tagan TG430-U15 430W PSU (40A on combined 12V) | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 160Gb 8Mb Cache | Point Of View nVidia GeForce 6800GS | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | Logitech 5.1 X-530 Sound System | Hauppauge PVR250 | Liteon DVDR+-
 07/01/2004 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reepsmac
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/01/2004

its just wierd b/c when the monitor is unpluged from the vga port it says no signal (no problem there) but as soon as it is pluged into the vga port it acts like it is in power saving mode (with the amber led rather than the green led) even with the power off.
 07/01/2004 12:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

You still have not clarified what exactly the bios beep codes are...Check your manual for a beep code description before going on a wild goose chase. Also verify that the AGP cards are properly seated and if possible that they are of the correct specification for that mainboard, ie some newer mainboards require specific voltage AGP cards, others don't care...

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 07/01/2004 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
desteven
Senior Member

Posts: 605
Joined: 01/27/2004

Soyo support page' ">http://www.soyousa.com/kb/kbdesc.php?id=172

Try the SOYO support page, I can't find the beeping error that you described(the above link is the closest I found), most of the solutions are quite basic, but there is an area that you can select which beeping error you are getting and they offer a solution for each one.
 07/01/2004 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OliverMaltby
Senior Member

Posts: 1095
Joined: 06/01/2004

QUOTE I hear two beeps

It sounds like it is booting up correctly, and the only thing wrong is that the display isn't working. Try my idea about removing and the graphics card, blowing on the AGP socket and putting the graphics card back in.

-------------------------
ASRock 939Dual-Sata2 Athlon ULi m1695 | AMD 64 3200+ S939 | 2 x OCZ Premier 512MB DDR400 CL 2.5-3-3-7 | Tagan TG430-U15 430W PSU (40A on combined 12V) | Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 160Gb 8Mb Cache | Point Of View nVidia GeForce 6800GS | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | Logitech 5.1 X-530 Sound System | Hauppauge PVR250 | Liteon DVDR+-
 07/01/2004 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reepsmac
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/01/2004

been there done that, it says the same thing my manual does check jumpers reset cmos battery, check memory slots and vc and make sure they are seated right, change vga card....and i have tried all of that?
 07/01/2004 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
desteven
Senior Member

Posts: 605
Joined: 01/27/2004

If you have another fan lying around with a 3 pin connector, try plugging it in to the CPUFAN1 connector. Don't remove your heatsink, just unplug it. When I bought a new fan for my heatsink, it did not spin fast enough and my comp would turn on with a couple of beeps then shut down because of the anti burn regulator, my fan was not spinning fast enough.

I had to use the stock heatsink fan that came with my processor to boot up into the bios and disable the FOC and ABR options so I could boot up with my new fan.

Just had to trick the bios into thinking the proper speed fan was actually seated on the processor when I was actually holding it outside of the case.

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information