AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Random Freezing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/10/2003 02:23 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/10/2003 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hooman
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/10/2003

I just finished putting together a second system for my son, and have been having problems with it freezing. Normally it freezes after a few minutes of playing any game.

My system specs are:

AMD Athlon XP 2400 Processor
WINDOWS 2000 Professional
256MB PC2700 DDR RAM
Syntax S746FX(AGP8x - 6 USB2.0 - 333/266 mhz FSB ) Motherboard
ASUS V9520MAGIC 128M GF FX5200 128MBDDR,8XAGP Video Card
BSE 40GB 7200RPM ATA133 IDE Hard Drive

I read an article at microsoft.com titled "AGP Program May Hang When Using Page Size Extension on Athlon Processor". Has anyone else seen this happen? Any ideas what could be wrong?
 10/10/2003 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

what PSU do you have?
what about your temps and voltages - especially Vcore(CPU-voltage)?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/10/2003 04:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Guntario
Member

Posts: 69
Joined: 10/05/2003

It sounds like it could easily be a heating problem. Look at your temps and then if they are high, check and make sure your HS is mounted properly on your CPU.

-------------------------
Game Editor
Flickerdown Data Systems' ">http://www.flickerdown.com
"The Fusion of Hardware and Life"
 10/10/2003 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Munny
Member

Posts: 128
Joined: 10/06/2003

Does it freeze only in games? If so, what games? Does it freeze in business apps (i.e., Word, Excel, etc.), or while idling at the desktop?

When you say freeze, does the system simply lock up, or does it blue screen, reset, or anything else? Can you contro-alt-del out of it?

I would guess that you are having a video card driver issue. Download and install the latest video card drivers, and see if that resolves the problem.

-------------------------
[Insert witty saying here]

 10/10/2003 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hooman
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/10/2003

AMD XP / Intel P4 Approved ATX Power Supply - 350w

Is there another place for me to check my temps besides the BIOS?

When it freezes it is a complete system lock up. Rebooting is my only option, I can't get to my task manager. The games are generally graphics intensive, but it has also locked during basic internet browsing.

I have all the current drivers for all of my components.

My initial reaction was that it was overheating, so I will see what I can do from that standpoint.
 10/10/2003 05:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

PSU should be sufficient. what are your temps right now(those you get in BIOS for a start)?
you can use software like Motherboard Monitor or Speedfan to check temps in window$...(search on google if you don't have them )

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/10/2003 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Java
Elite

Posts: 2298
Joined: 10/05/2003

To test if it is thermally related, try opening the case, pointing a small house fan inside. Get a ton of air moving across everything. Then run apps that would normally cause the problem. If problem goes away, then problem is thermally related. If not, then problem is likely driver related.

-------------------------
There are 10 types of people in the world, those that understand binary and those that don't.

Java
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

System 1: A64 X2 4800 | A8N SLI Del. | 6800GT | TT Tsunami | WD 80GB HD | Plextor DVD R/W | 1GB Corsair Pro, 1GB Crucial Balistix<br>System 2 (Wife's): A64 460
 10/11/2003 02:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrweirdo
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 10/11/2003

still abit weary of that psu since you didnt give a brand name... Im sure there are crummy psus out there that claim to be amd intel approved. One idea to check the quality of the supply is how heavy it is. If its super light like a tin can then it might be a lower quality supply. If its heavier usualy means its a good supply. Just a general guideline though

As for the cooling what is your case installed fan layout like. cpu heatsink being used. etc.

-------------------------
http://www.pctechsite.com' ">http://www.pctechsite.com :: The Pc Technology Site featuring articles, news, reviews, and a whole lot more :)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information