AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: The "New" Durons
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/11/2004 07:49 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/11/2004 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
*NRG* MIKE
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/11/2004

Ok, I just got a new Procedssor for one of my "Quake III" machines. I e-bay'd and e-bay'd looking for a reasonable (Cheap) 2400+ for my second set up when I stumbled upon the NEW Durons. They say they are based on the Athlon architecture and compare with processors, AMD and Intel, in the 2500MHz range. The cool part was they are way cheaper than any of the 1800+-2400+ Athlons I was looking at. So anyways, I get this NEW Duron 1.8GHz (it is really 1.8GHz lol) for $37.10 !!! I couldn't pass it up, so I pop it into my ECS Mobo and wham! I have a 1.8GHz Quake Machine... Only problem, and it ain't really a big one, I can't find any info on these NEW processors on the AMD sight...Anyone here seen them or know anything about them? I know the one difference is the cache... it is only 64k, but I can live with that...

-------------------------
AMD 3000+ XP
Gigabyte GA-7N400 pro 2
Dual Chanel DDR OCZ 2700 512MB
Maxtor 120GB 8MB cache
nVidia GeForce FX 5600 256MB
 02/11/2004 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
45 Auto
Senior Member

Posts: 514
Joined: 10/11/2003

Nothing unusual about the duron you found. The 133fsb durons have been on the market for a number of months now. Basically, they are t'breds that for some reason didn't pass AMD QC and were released with the L2 cache cut back to 64k. It is possible on some to restore the cache, and turn the chip into a t'bred. However on most, it can't be done. Despite that, you still have a good solid cpu to use, and at a budget price.

-------------------------
955BE/MA790GP-UD4H/HAF932/Corsair H5O/Sapphire 6850/2x2gig Ocz reaper dd2-8500/Corsair Tx650

Asrock 939dualie/5400Brisbane/6gig AData ddr2-800/4850/Antec basiq500/HSF from 955BE
 02/11/2004 08:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
klrk1400
Senior Member

Posts: 962
Joined: 11/04/2003

Here are the tech docs: http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...t_ty..._docs/25848.PDF' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...nd_tech_docs/25848.PDF

-------------------------

Folding for Team #34106' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showforum=27
 02/11/2004 10:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
*NRG* MIKE
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/11/2004

QUOTE (klrk1400 @ Feb 11 2004, 05:52 PM)Here are the tech docs: http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...t_ty..._docs/25848.PDF' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...nd_tech_docs/25848.PDF
Thanks Guys. I was just looking at those specs It looks like I got a good deal. Nice to have a place to go ask questions and get answers. Thanks again...You gotta love AMD

-------------------------
AMD 3000+ XP
Gigabyte GA-7N400 pro 2
Dual Chanel DDR OCZ 2700 512MB
Maxtor 120GB 8MB cache
nVidia GeForce FX 5600 256MB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information