AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Overclocking help
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/09/2003 05:02 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/09/2003 05:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dali13gr
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/09/2003

I have just installed an Athlon XP 2600+ on a Gigabyte GA 7N400 L1 mobo but the device manager tells me it is an Athlon 2000+ Why?
Also I wonder if someone could help me overclock my system a bit. Should I put any more fans? I only have the cpu fan and the system fan.

-------------------------
dali13gr@yahoo.com[FONT=Courier]
GA-7N400 L1 nFORCE2 Ultra
Athlon XP 2600+
2x256 MB DDR
ATI RADEON 9600 128MB
WD 800JB 80MB
Plextor Premium 52x32x52
Pioneer DVD
Philips 107x43
 10/09/2003 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TNZ
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/09/2003

XP2600+ "c" or "d" .... aka 133 or 166 Mhz FSB ?
 10/09/2003 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDA
Senior Member

Posts: 3895
Joined: 10/06/2003

This should probably be in the XP forum, I mix the two up sometimes when I'm not careful enough. No worries, someone will probably move it there if it matters.

I think it's a 166MHz FSB CPU. The multiplier on those is 12.5, but the multiplier on the FSB133s is 16. 12.5x133 (it's probably an FSB drop) is 2000+ standard speed, 16x100 is likely to be read as a 1900+.

Okay, first, you're going to need to either get some PC2700 DDR memory or set the memory speed to 133MHz in the BIOS. You can do the latter by entering Expert/Manual/whatever for all the options in the "Advanced Chipset" section of the BIOS (I think that's it) for all the options, then setting the RAM's speed to 133MHz, or "80%". (Make sure the bus speed / FSB is set at 166MHz! If this is confusing (and it really can be, the options in the BIOS are quite confusing), repost and I'll post in more detail.

To overclock, you will probably want a good CPU cooler and good system cooling. A couple cheap Speeze or SUNON 80mm case fans should do okay for case cooling. Look for fans that put out at least around 35CFM. If you feel like spending an extra couple of bucks, Panaflo High Outputs would do the job very nicely. For CPU cooling, something like a Thermalright SLK-900A or SLK-800A would be good. (You should use a 92mm fan on the 900A, and an 80mm fan on the 800A. Again, Panaflo if you feel like it.) Make sure you use good thermal goo (Arctic Silver Ceramique, Nanotherm PCM+, and Shin-Etsu G-751 are all good options) and spread it thinly. Again, if you need more detail, tell me and I'll try to provide it.

-------------------------
DEC Pentium X2 5200+ w/ HyperCache (Ezra core)
Asus M7NCD-MAX3 (OPTi Vendetta 82C760)
6x Generic 32MB PC2700 RDRAM (50ns SIMMs)
2x nVidia Millennium X1800 Duo (SLI mode)
12x (daisy-chained) Quantum Medalist 180GXP (w/ separate SCSI-1 adapter)

"Oh, you started a Rube Goldberg machine. A Rube Goldberg machine... called JUSTICE." <a href='http://www.boomspeed.com/old_camper/amdforumsircchat.ht
 10/10/2003 07:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dali13gr
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/09/2003

I think I've figured that out SDA. I set the FSB at 166 and now the CPU is recognized as AXP 2600+. As for the rest,my memory is PC3200. You say I should set it to 80%?
My cooling system must be very weak as the CPU temp is 43C idle and it reaches 58C on load.I think I must replace my CPU heatshink with something more "professional" and install one or two more fans on my case.What do you think?

-------------------------
dali13gr@yahoo.com[FONT=Courier]
GA-7N400 L1 nFORCE2 Ultra
Athlon XP 2600+
2x256 MB DDR
ATI RADEON 9600 128MB
WD 800JB 80MB
Plextor Premium 52x32x52
Pioneer DVD
Philips 107x43
 10/10/2003 07:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dagalidis
Senior Member

Posts: 243
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE my memory is PC3200. You say I should set it to 80%?

You must set RAM to 100% (SYNCH mode) to gain Performance and stability....

-------------------------
ATHLON64 3200+@2380(238X10) 1.644 Vcore Cooling By AMD Stock Heatsink ASUS K8V Deluxe (VIA K8T800 Chipset) 256x2 TWINMOS PC3700 5-3-2-2.5 at 2.8V Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2 Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS LEADTEK FX5900 128MB My ViVo
<span style='co
 10/10/2003 08:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

i concur.
The % for the RAM-clock you can set in BIOS is the percentage of the FSB, NOT % the RAMs' rated speed

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information