AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon XP crashes when doing anything
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/05/2004 12:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/05/2004 12:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superphil123
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/05/2004

This is quite an interesting problem. My computer crashes and reboots whenever I play a game or do anything graphically intensive on my machine. Error reporting to Microsoft says:
QUOTE Analysis Information

Thank you for submitting an error report. The error was likely caused by:

A hardware failure reported by your Central Processing Unit (CPU)

This behavior occurs because your computer processor detected an unrecoverable hardware error and reported it to Windows. For more information, contact the manufacturer of your computer.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Additional Technical Information

Error Message: STOP: 0x0000009C (0x00000004, 0x00000000, 0xb2000000, 0x00020151)


This is what it said the first couple of times. Then it started saying:


QUOTE Error Caused by a Device Driver

Thank you for submitting an error report. Unfortunately, we cannot provide you with specific information about how to resolve this problem at this time. The information that you and other users submit will be used to investigate this problem.

Analysis

A device driver installed on your system caused the problem, but we cannot determine the precise cause.

Getting Help

Depending on which situation is applicable to you, do one of the following:

If this problem occurred after you installed a new hardware device on your system, the problem might be caused by the driver for the device. If you know the manufacturer of the device, contact the manufacturer's product support service for assistance.
Some software, such as firewall and anti-virus software, also installs drivers. If this problem occurred after you installed new software, the software might have installed a driver that caused the problem. If you know the manufacturer of the software, contact the manufacturer's product support service for assistance.
If you don't know the driver's manufacturer and need help diagnosing and resolving this problem, contact your computer manufacturer's product support service.
Updated drivers might be available on the Microsoft Windows Update Web site. At Windows Update, you can have your computer scanned and, if there are updated drivers available, Windows Update will offer a selection of drivers that you might be able to use. To learn more about updated drivers that might be available, visit Microsoft Windows Update.
For information about Microsoft support options, visit Microsoft Product Support Services.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Additional Technical Information

Troubleshooting STOP 0X00000076 - PROCESS HAS LOCKED PAGES Error Messages in Windows 2000 (Q256010)
How to Troubleshoot Hardware and Software Driver Problems in Windows XP (Q322205)


I cannot pinpoint what started this nonsence, but it was around the time when I installed SP1, installed all the windows updates & drivers & updated my ATI catalysts. (I just got a Cable connection and upgrading that all through dial up is a pain)

Thanks for ANY help you can give me,
Phil Traversa

Note: I have just reformatted my computer and didn't install the new catalysts, so I guess you maybe able to cross that off the list.
 07/05/2004 01:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

Well seems like you have a graphics card problem. Uninstall the graphics driver and install the first driver that came with the card. If it works, you downloaded a corrupt driver, try to get the driver from somewhere else

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 07/05/2004 01:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
desteven
Senior Member

Posts: 605
Joined: 01/27/2004

Also try re-installing directx 9.0b from somewhere other than windows update (from a game cd, etc...) I was having lock-up problems and tried everything. I re-installed dx 9.0b from the game disc and my problems went away. I know it sounds odd, but it's an option
 07/05/2004 01:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superphil123
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/05/2004

Thanks Frozensteel, but it didn't work. The crash this time said:

QUOTE Analysis Information

Thank you for submitting an error report. The error was likely caused by:

A hardware failure reported by your Central Processing Unit (CPU)

This behavior occurs because your computer processor detected an unrecoverable hardware error and reported it to Windows. For more information, contact the manufacturer of your computer.

You can track this error report by clicking the Track this error report link. If you choose to track your error report, you will be notified of resolutions to this problem as they are identified.
GoTrack this error report

Additional Technical Information

    * Error Message: STOP: 0x0000009C (0x00000004, 0x00000000, 0xb2000000, 0x00020151)


desteven, I will try your suggestion, but I personally think that the problem lies with the cpu. The error reports say that, but then again, what does MS know about AMD?

Also, the MS Knowledge Base article that Online Crash Analysis sends me is located at:

CODE http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=329284
 07/05/2004 04:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

Ok, Mabe it isn't the graphics card. What its trying to say superphil123 is that your processor has found an error (Your processor detected it, the processor isn't the problem). Are you overclocking your system? Go into the advanced settings in the BIOS and take a look at the FSB and the Multiplier. Tell me the type of processor you got with the name (Athlon, Xp),number rating (2400,2500,2600 ect.) and core (Barton, T-bred) Also, tell me everything you have in that computer and tell me how many watts your PSU can take. Plus when your running a full load, what are the temps. in the case and cpu temps. This could cause instability and make it crash. But before you do any of that, intel said to check your memory, so download memtest and run it. If it says your memory is ok, you either overclocked it, you have extream cpu temps. or you have a bad PSU. Just to sum up what Microsofts trying to say

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 07/05/2004 04:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

You running an Intel Processor? Says the error is mostly found by one of the features of pentium processors... You using an AMD?

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 07/05/2004 09:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lordmozilla
Senior Member

Posts: 331
Joined: 01/27/2004

well it looks like Graphics still... Well I recon. Try to uninstall the drivers manually with Nasty File Remover (NFR for short). You could also try to eradicate Directx ad reinstall it there are tools for that too. I know it fixed problem a bit similr to that on my good old P3....
 07/05/2004 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superphil123
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/05/2004

Well, I am overclocking it @ a FSB of 147mhz & a mulitplier of 4 (not sure about the 4). It is an AMD Athlon XP 2400+. I dunno if it is a Barton or T-Bred, but I doubt it is a Barton. I have had no problems overclocking or anything before installing SP1. Could it just be a couinidence? Don't laugh: I have 256mb DDR PC2100 Ram (which memtest said was OK), An ATI Radeon 7000/VE graphics card, and a MSI KT4V (MS-6712) Mobo. Will get temps & PSU value when I open it up to look.

EDIT: Normal running temps (taking right now): CPU: 132 F, System: 89 F
EDIT: Tryed to crash it while running a game, The highest spike I saw was CPU:145 F, System: 92 F. The average would have to be CPU: 142 F. System: 91 F.
 07/05/2004 01:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
desteven
Senior Member

Posts: 605
Joined: 01/27/2004

Those temps are outrageous. Even though your processor should withstand up to 85 celcius (about 180 F) those temps you have could cause some stability probs. Hopefully you are getting false readings
 07/05/2004 01:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superphil123
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/05/2004

I am using PC Alert that came w/ my mobo, but I doubt they are false. The CoolerXP program that come w/ it increases the fan speed to make the temp go down. It registers @ 125 F right now as I type. Also, my PSU is 300 watts, generic (I think).
 07/05/2004 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superphil123
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/05/2004

What should I do? Get new cooling system? Will it stop the reboots?
(CPU Temp: 120 F and going down)

EDIT: I downloaded another temp taking utility and the original readings are off by around 8 degrees.
 07/05/2004 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
desteven
Senior Member

Posts: 605
Joined: 01/27/2004

I don't think heat is your problem yet

Although it is something you should look at when your current problem is fixed. And as for that I got no more ideas, sorry
 07/05/2004 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superphil123
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/05/2004

Thanks for your input. Here is some more info that I got from the Hmonitor utility:

QUOTE Hmonitor Version 4.1.4.2 Pro
Registered to:  (Trial)
H/W diagnostics info:

Windows XP Professional Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 1
M/B Chipset: VIA KT400/600
Main Sensor: W83697hf
ISA port used: 290
SMB port used: 0400
1st sensor: Thermistor 0
2nd sensor: Thermistor 1
3rd sensor: Thermistor 0
CPU ID:0-6-8-1
BrandName:AMD Athlon™ XP 2400+
Internal Freq=2,209.0 MHz
External Freq=147.27 MHz
SystemBus Freq=294.5 MHz DDR
Multiplier=15.0
Manufacturer: MSI
Board model: MS-6712
Version: 1.0
BIOS vendor: American Megatrends Inc.
BIOS version: Version 07.00T, Release date: 04/02/01
Thermo control configuration:
Full Throttle:100.0%
CPU Low Power mode:N
Win 95/98 Idle Control:N
Device:CPU1 Throttle:25.0% Enable at:158.0°F Disable at:149.0°F
Monitored data values:
Mainboard=91.4°F
CPU1=128.3°F
CPU2=xx.x°C
Power=4017 rpm
CPU=3668 rpm
N/A=0 rpm
+12V=+12.46V
+5V=+4.92V
Core=+1.65V
I/O=+3.25V
-12V=-12.28V
-5V=-5.30V
Aux=+x.xxV
HDD1 (WDC WD300AB-00BPA1 18.20D18) temp=xx.x°C

New temp reading @ crashing point: CPU: 58.2 C, System:34 C
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information