AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1800+ multi problem, no cut L1's but cant change from 11.5
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/04/2004 02:14 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/04/2004 02:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

Its a T-bred B JUIHB, and the multi's are unlocked, visually,(no cut L1's) but it won't budge from 11.5, and I cant raise the vcore either on my nf2 board. even though I can change the settings in the bios, it stays at 11.5 with 1.50 vcore. I was planning on shooting for 200x11, or even 11.5. but I know it won't do it at 1.50 vcore. Anyone else ever run into this? By the way, and before you jump outa your chairs, I was planning baby steps towards that speed as an end result.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 07/04/2004 02:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

What motherboard are you using???? If you can't raise the Vcore or the Multiplier it seems the motherboard dont allow it and you have a real crappy one. What model is it and who makes it

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 07/04/2004 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

Its a MSI K7N2 Delta L, and it will overclock any of my other AMD's. Had my 1600 duron running at 185x10.5 @1.80 vcore stable, before I pulled it to try thiis Tbred b. But I looked a little closer at the tbred, and seen the date of 0350. So even though the L1's arent cut, its locked in the die some how. Sneaky devels anyway. There isn't much sense oc'ing a duron, even at that speed, the benchmarks still aren't equal with the stock 1800+, and not even close to any bigger Athlon. All you make is more heat. I wish they made a chip somewhere in the middle, or at least change the durons to 128 L2 cache. They would then kick butt on a celeron of equal speed, And sell a ton more for comercial use.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 07/04/2004 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

Um... You have an Athlon Xp 1800 256k t-bred right???? If you do, you got some real problems. To run stable at default FSB and Multiplier settings
(266 FSB x 11.5) you need a minimum Vcore of 1.75 volts. Now you said you have 1.5 volts going through it.... Its not running stable because it don't have enough power going through it. You need to raise the Vcore to 1.75 volts and if you can't, I reccommend you send the motherboard back to the manufacturer and get a new one.

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 07/05/2004 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

Um, check the Athlon specs, 1800+ A 1.50 vcore. 1800+ B 1.60 vcore 2200+ A 1.65 vcore. Where are you coming up with a 1.75? Thats Duron morgan and spitfire specs for an 0.18m 200 fsb. Maybe this will help: http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html' ">http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 07/05/2004 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

He was probably looking at the 1800+ Palomino core, which does use a 1.75v vcore. All Palomino's used 1.75, my mobo seems to overvolt very slightly to run my Palomino 2100+ @ 1.79v. But if it runs stabe, then it is a moot point.

-Adam
 07/05/2004 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

Oops, forgot about pallys. Those things can heat your house in the winter. But if its still working, and running halfway cool, Then thats a good thing!

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 07/05/2004 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

LOL, I got my Pally @ 39C Idle, 42C Load (and yes, it's on air).

-Adam
 07/05/2004 06:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
parsifal
Senior Member

Posts: 1460
Joined: 05/07/2004

Stone age,
In BIOS, change the "System Performance" to "Manual", scroll your BIOS to "Frequency/Voltage Control", i think you can change both Multiplier (CPU Ratio) and Vcore (CPU Vcore Select) settings there, though i doubt the multi is unlocked 'cause the "0350" date. If you've already tried that and it didn't work, something is wrong with the BIOS. Flash it to latest BIOS file version or download the same version and try again.
 07/05/2004 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Anything made after week 43 of 2003 is 'Super-locked' as far as the multi goes, but you should be able to raise the VCore, and overclock via FSB.


I have three of the XP 1700+ DLT3C JIUHB CPUs here, and they will ALL do 2450 to 2520 MHz on 1.85 VCore


-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information