AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Possible redraw problem?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/06/2004 04:31 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/06/2004 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joeydkeg
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/06/2004

I am having a huge problem. For some reason my screen is all garbled looking and whatnot. I uploaded a picture of how my screen looks at :
http://www.layinbody.com/fupscreen.JPG' ">http://www.layinbody.com/fupscreen.JPG

I got a 3.2 ghz AMD athlon
Radeon 9800 pro 256mb
1 gig of ram
windows xp
ASUS a7n8x-e delux motherboard

I was wondering coiuld there be any conflicts between any of these?? Sometimes when I turn off all the hardware acceleration the computer will work fine. I am assuming the video card might not be compatible with something or it might just be screwed up.

Sorry if there are any spelling mistakes, but this screen makes it hard to read alot of stuff sometimes.
 07/06/2004 04:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Did you get the video card new or as a refurb? With artifacts like those, I'd look at the video card, although it is possible that there are power supply issues as well, as the 9800 requires a direct line to the PSU. What are the spec of your PSU (total wattage, and amperage ratings on each rail)?

-Adam
 07/06/2004 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joeydkeg
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/06/2004

Well everything is all new. I got it from cyberpowerinc.com and they have horrible tech support.

I think I got the standard case power supply from them. I would have to find out the voltage. Do you know what kind of voltage something like that would need at the minimum?
 07/06/2004 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

I'd say nothing less then 350 watts, and preferably 400 watts or higher, but it needs to be a quality PSU. Generic power supply's are often putting out considerably less then what they claim.

Also, I'm assuming you mean an Athlon XP 3200+, which operates at 2.2 Ghz, but will perform similarly to a P4 3.2 Ghz.

-Adam
 07/06/2004 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joeydkeg
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/06/2004

Yea I was wondering why my comp speed said 2.2 ghz!

Maybe I will go buy a bigger power supply today. See if that might fix the problem.

 07/06/2004 04:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Before you do that, I'd download memtest and run a test on your system memory, also, if you can get your hands on another video card, I'd try it, to rule out the card.

-Adam
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information