AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon II X3 455 undervolting software?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/10/2011 01:39 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/10/2011 01:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ednan
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/10/2011

First of all hello to everyone
I have motherboard Gigabyte M61PME-S2 with chipset nVidia GeForce 6100V,Athlon II X 3 455 3,3 GHz.Now my CPU's voltage stands at 1,46(all the time)while it's allowed voltage is 0.85-1.40.The reason I want to do undervolt it is to decrease it's power usage and heating(temperature).I tried to do this through my BIOS but my motherboard does not support this option(even after updating BIOS ).So,if anyone can think of any kind of software which will allow me to do so I would be very much grateful.
 09/10/2011 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

What Operating system are you using with your M61PME-S2? This is relevant as there are a few approaches that aim for power/energy saving.

-------------------------
 09/10/2011 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ednan
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/10/2011

Windows XP SP3 32 bit,and thank you for responding.It's mainly the heat that I am trying to decrease by doing this.

Edited: 09/10/2011 at 05:06 PM by Ednan
 09/10/2011 05:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

ok. The first thing to check is that CnQ(Cool and Quiet) is enabled in BIOS and that OS power management is set to use it. The Power scheme in WinXp, Control Panel, Power Options->minimal power management.

-------------------------
 09/10/2011 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ednan
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/10/2011

Unfortunately,my motherboard does not support CnQ option(I know,it's THAT old )minimal power management is set.
 09/11/2011 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

According to the manual, CnQ is supported in BIOS.
See under "Advanced BIOS Features"

GA-M61PME-S2 manual.

If it does not work, maybe the board needs a BIOS update in order to make CnQ work with your processor.

-------------------------


Edited: 09/11/2011 at 03:10 PM by go_for
 09/11/2011 05:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ednan
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/10/2011

Updated BIOS and it's there now set on Auto although I don't see any differences in CPU's temperature,maybe I should wait a while.
 09/12/2011 01:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Although SP3 should have this included, you can load this to make sure the driver is there.

AMD Processor Driver Version 1.3.2.0053 for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 (x86 and x64)

-------------------------
 09/12/2011 03:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ednan
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/10/2011

Finally it works!!!After installing this driver CPU voltages are fluctuating as they should between 1.17-1.46 and not 1.46 all the time(yesterday it was 1.47)and the cores temperatures are 6-8 degrees lower which helps a lot!!!!Thank you so much!!!!!!Just wanted to ask is this in any way going to decrease CPU's performance under load cause I play a lot of games that are CPU demanding?
 09/12/2011 04:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

It shouldnt affect performance, When the system is put under load, the speed and voltage should kick up to the rated speed of the cpu and when its idle, it should go back down.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 09/12/2011 04:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ednan
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/10/2011

Unfortunately it DID!Done some testing with FRAPS and depending which games I play it decreased it's performance 10-20 % .
 09/12/2011 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Consider that is the price to pay for reducing energy consumption. Besides, you can always turn CnQ off in OS temporarily whenever necessary.

-------------------------
 09/12/2011 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ednan
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/10/2011

Can't have my cake and eat it too as they say.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information